Home » Daily food & workouts » Choosing Sleep

Choosing Sleep

Hey everyone, sorry I missed you yesterday! I had great plans to go to the gym, but my day started like this instead:

6:55 AM

Riley: Babe….babe, why are you still asleep??

Me: Whaaaa? CRAP!

I rushed to work and never got a chance to put up a post. I felt “off” all day cause I missed my workout, but what can you do? My morning did start to turn around when I remembered my boss had bought Panera bagels for the office!

Panera bagel

I scarfed down a whole grain bagel and honey walnut cream cheese and it was amazing. I hadn’t had a Panera bagel in forever! I spent the rest of the day working, though my carpool buddy and I did sneak out at lunch to go donate some toys for a local radio station’s Toy’s For Tots drive.

After work I made myself a small salad.

Side salad

Dinner was the same as lunch: chicken parmesan leftovers!

Chicken parmesan

Riley made a big batch Tuesday night (I helped, kind of) and I can’t stop eating it. Chicken parmesan is one of my all-time favorites and it’s total comfort food for me when things get crazy.

Chicken parmesan in pan

This week is one of those crazy weeks where I want comfort food for every meal!

I wish I could say I made it to the gym this morning, but I had another night of tossing and turning thanks to my snoring husband. I don’t think I’ve slept a full night all week long and it’s taking its toll on me for sure! I got a, “you all right? you look….off” from my boss yesterday, which is a nice way of saying, “you look like crap, go get some sleep.”

I’m taking another tactic with my workouts today and bringing a gym bag to work with me. One of the perks of working at a college is the free gym use! My school has an awesome gym so I plan on getting a good workout in today over lunch. Not my first choice, but it’s better than no workout at all! I’m planning on doing a 20 minute warm-up on the elliptical, then lifting weights or doing a circuit. Not sure which one yet, but I’ll figure it out!

Make sure to head on over to The Big Man’s World today, where I’m participating in his He Thinks/She Thinks series. Today’s topic is on food and gender stereotypes, which I’ve written about before so be sure to check it out. Have a great Thursday!

How do you get workouts in when your usual plans fall through?

What foods do you crave the most when you’re stressed?

24 thoughts on “Choosing Sleep

  1. Oh the tiredness due to lack of sleep caused by a snoring husband is the worst. I could definitely relate to you on that before Joshua had his surgery a few weeks ago. It sucks, huh?!

    Panera bread for breakast – yup that totally makes up for a non-existent workout )

  2. I think that sleep (or a lack thereof) affects my day more so than anything else. If I don’t get enough, not only am I tired and unmotivated, but I find myself wanting to eat ALL the carbs and sugar — gotta get that energy in there somehow. Sorry to hear that you haven’t been sleeping well, lady. My sleep has been kind of off these past couple of days as well. Hopefully things get better soon!

  3. My sleep basically determines my state all day long. I wish I could say I’m a good sleeper but I’m not šŸ˜¦ At least not when I’m as stressed as I currently am. But I’m trying to see a big picture here which is the christmas holidays that will hopefully be here in no time! Feel better love!

  4. I either sneak in a quite run or lift after work or I just do an at home workout, sometimes a youtube video, those things are a savior. When I am stressed I crave peanut butter, almond butter, any kind of nut butter really and some bananas, banana and peanut butter is my all time favorite (yea still kind of healthy til I go through a jar of peanut butter in less than a week :/).

  5. Love Panera bread!! Not much of a cream cheese fan but I’d give the one you mentioned a try. My back up workout plans are always my DVDs (TurboKick or T25) and kettlebells that I have in my basement. My comfort food is potatoes. Mashed or pierogie (sp) style.

  6. When my plan falls, I try to do at least a 20 minute at home workout. Buuuuuut if I can’t do anything at all, I try to eat “healthy” šŸ™‚

    Stress? Means chocolate, more chocolate and salty snacks xD

  7. Ironically, its times when I have ‘more time to sleep’ that I have a worse sleep than times where I have to set the alarm and restrict it due to day to day life! It does throw a spanner into the works regarding working out, but I like the tactic of bringing a gym bag with you!

    Off topic but that chicken parmesan…amazing.

  8. This is why I run at night! I can’t ever sleep through it šŸ™‚ Seriously though, I haven’t been getting enough sleep this week either and it’s messing with me too! I’m so excited tomorrow is Friday!

  9. Sometimes extra sleep is better than a workout. I think fitting it in at lunch is a great way to improvise. Even if it’s just light cardio, you’re still moving.

    I love Panera’s bagels too, that’s a great way to turn your morning around. Hope you got some better sleep tonight!

  10. Some days you just need a sleep in!!

    I put my workout clothes and lunch and breakfast together the night before so I can sleep longer. If I miss it I try and do it after work or take my rest day early or sometimes I just skip it for that week, I figure it doesn’t happen all the time and if I needed that extra rest my body was telling me something

Leave a Reply

