Home » Daily food & workouts » That time I fell asleep in yoga class

That time I fell asleep in yoga class

I can’t even tell you how happy I am that it’s finally Friday! It’s been a long week and I’m so ready to curl up with a blanket and some wine tonight after work.

Yesterday’s lunch-time workout was a fail because I ended up going out for pizza with co-workers instead. What is happening to me this week?! It was totally worth it though. I had a giant slice of cheese topped with basil, fresh tomatoes, and feta cheese. I may have also had a second slice….

Since I was feeling stressed, super tired, and completely lazy, I signed up for a “candlelight restorative” yoga class at a placed called Studio South, near home. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it sounded relaxing and after the week I’ve had? I needed relaxing.

Source

The class was exactly what I needed! It was in a dim room with candles everywhere and was the most relaxing yoga class I’ve ever done. I wouldn’t even call it a workout, really. It was more like…..mindful laying, I guess. We just held poses for 2-7 minutes at a time and by the end of the class, while I was laying in under my blanket, I fell asleep. I finally felt relaxed! I promptly signed up for a month’s worth of classes, so now I get to try out all the studio has to offer, including Hot Barre, which sounds super fun!

Workout & Breakfast

I got up early this morning and got to the gym around 5:00 so I could get in a more active workout. I completed 35 minutes on the adaptive motion trainer before grabbing a mat and doing some ab work on the floor. I felt a lot better starting my day with a good workout!

For breakfast, I threw together a quick smoothie. I used oatmeal, a banana, almond milk, and dark chocolate peanut butter. Throw in a little ice and I had a quick and easy meal!

Dark chocolate oatmeal smoothie

I’m off to work, but I’m already in the weekend mindset! I don’t have a lot on tap for the weekend, but I do plan on decorating the house for Christmas and maybe starting some shopping.

Sunday, I’m scheduled to run the Christmastown Dash 8k at Busch Gardens Williamsburg. I’ve run it twice before and it’s a lot of fun. I love running through the empty park when it’s all decorated for the holidays!

Kelly Christmastown Dash

This year’s forecast keeps getting worse and worse, however: 90% chance of rain and a high of 38….soooo, we’ll see how that goes.

Hope you all have a great weekend and if I don’t catch pneumonia this weekend I’ll see you all Monday!

Are you running and races this month?

What’s your favorite kind of yoga? I don’t do it as much as I’d like, but hot yoga’s definitely my favorite. I love to sweat!

18 thoughts on “That time I fell asleep in yoga class

  1. I haven’t gotten to try hot yoga but have been wanting to like crazy! Hopefully I get to try a drop in class soon! I have been going to my local lululemon when I can, it’s not only free yoga but we get to try out different types since new instructors come each month! I love it!

  2. I love yoga. But put me in child’s pose at the end of a particularly relaxing Ashtanga session, and I literally can sleep like a child.

  3. I have yet to go to an actual yoga class, but I have a feeling I would seriously benefit from one… talk about being stressed out to the max 😯 😯 And with the amount of sleep I’ve [not] been getting lately, I could use a little bit of extra time to nap πŸ˜‰

  4. I hope the weather holds up for your race Sunday! I laughed that you fell asleep in yoga that is awesome, you obviously just needed more rest this week so I wouldn’t beat yourself up for it πŸ˜‰

    Have a great weekend!

  5. My favourite yoga class was the one I went to and the instructor said it was cancelled… Yep true Yoga fan right here πŸ˜›

    I’m considering a few fun runs next year, but coming into Summer.. I may die just going to the starting line! Have a blast!

  6. The yoga class sounds so relaxing! There is something kind if like that once a month at my local art museum and there is wine and cheese after! I’ve been meaning to hit it up, but haven’t had time to relax.. πŸ™‚ have a great weekend, lady!

Leave a Reply

