Home » Food & Recipes » Healthified Carrot Cake

Healthified Carrot Cake

Hey, everyone! We’re halfway through the week, that’s a good sign, right? As promised, I’ve got my carrot cake recipe up today so I hope you all enjoy!

I haven’t put up a baking recipe in a really long time, but I love cake.  Chocolate, vanilla, red velvet, it doesn’t matter! The best part about cake for me, though, is the frosting and my all-time favorite kind is cream cheese. I could literally eat it straight out of a bowl. When Riley asked me to make a carrot cake this past weekend, I was more than happy to agree because it meant I could have some cream cheese frosting!

Carrot Cake Top

There are a ton of carrot cake recipes out there and I scoured Pinterest for good-looking versions. I also knew I wanted to “healthify” it a little. Just because it has carrots in it doesn’t mean it’s health food!

I found some recipes here and here that I used as a general guide, but ended up switching things up a bit to make it my own. I also made some substitutions that lightened it up.

Carrot cake 3

Kelly’s Carrot Cake

Serves: That depends on how generously you like to slice, but this recipe makes one 2-layer cake.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups unsweetened apple sauce
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 ½ cups Stevia (or calorie-free sweetener of your choice)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 cups grated carrots

For the frosting:

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 1 8oz package of reduced-fat cream cheese
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • Chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 35o degrees F. Grease 2 round cake pans. Tip–>cut out parchment paper circles to line the pans with because the cakes will slide right out with no problem.

With a hand mixer, beat together the eggs, sugar, Stevia, vanilla extract, and apple sauce. Mix in the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Fold in the carrots with a spatula. Divide the mixture evenly between the two cake pans and bake for 33-35 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Turn cakes out onto a cooling rack and let cool completely. While the cakes cool, beat together the first 4 frosting ingredients. Spread a thin layer on top of one cake and stack the other layer on top. Frost the entire cake, including the sides. I placed a small bowl in the middle of the cake to get the chopped pecans to lay in an even circle around the cake.

Carrot Cake 1

Carrot cake 4

Dig in and enjoy! Riley approved and didn’t seem to notice any of the healthy substitutes I’d made. I can’t say the word “healthier” in front of him because for some reason he’ll automatically assume it doesn’t taste as good. Silly, I know. Don’t worry, this cake is still plenty bad for you, but it’s so good!

Carrot Cake 2

This turned out a little more dense than I’d planned, but I kind of rushed through beating the eggs with everything. The applesauce keeps it from being the least bit dry, however, so I was happy with how it turned out!

I’ll be snacking on this cake all week if Riley doesn’t get to it first. Hope you all have a great day!

What’s you favorite kind of cake? Frosting?

21 thoughts on “Healthified Carrot Cake

  1. It must be a guy thing because Joshua assumes the same thing when I say I “healthified” a recipe. Silly boys!!

    Carrot cake is in my top two favorite cakes, so you bet that I’m literally drooling on this side of the computer. You did a fabulous job! I’m thinking this will be a perfect dessert for Christmas day =)

  2. So my birthday is coming up in less than a month — just sayin’ 😉 This cake looks awesome, girl, and your pictures are gorgeous! I’m usually a cake over frosting kind of girl, but it’s definitely the other way around when cream cheese frosting is involved — LOVE that stuff.

  3. Pingback: ” Chocolate Souffle Cheesecake” | Ace Food & Health News

  4. You’ve reminded me to give carrot cake another go- I love it but haven’t had the chance to make it in AGES- its the icing which is amazing!

    That looks so good and your photography is beautiful- I would consider faceplanting my screen right now.

  5. Pingback: Recipe Roundup – Snacks | Fit Swiss Chick

  6. Pingback: Festive Carrot and Orange Cake! | The Barefoot Baker

  7. Pingback: Happy Monday | Sprouts n Squats

  8. Pingback: Post-Christmas Confessions | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

