Home » Daily food & workouts » I know I’m sick when….

I know I’m sick when….

Good morning, world, and Happy Friday Eve! Yesterday was a day filled with work, but also with a couple of celebrations. First, we had our office lunch and the entire office was able to be there.

Admission luncheon

I had some chicken, which wasn’t very good, but dessert was delicious (I’m seeing a trend this week). I had the apple cobbler and ate every last bite!

Apple cobbler

After working late, I met Riley and a bunch of our friends at Bonefish Grill to celebrate our friend Tara’s birthday. I had their mango classic sidecar, which is super tasty.

Bonefish drink

We didn’t stay very long because I’m still sick, so I was in bed super early last night. It’s going on a week now, so it’s becoming more annoying than anything. I realized this morning, however, that there are two major ways that I can tell I’m really sick:

1) I haven’t worked out since Monday. I normally take off 1 day during the week and 1 on the weekends, but looks like this week is a wash! According to The Internet, since many of my symptoms are in my chest area, it’s better to take it easy. I might try to take a yoga class or something like that, but none of my usual running, lifting, swinging, or circuiting.

2) I’m not hungry. I KNOW. I may as well be on my death- bed. At Bonefish yesterday, Riley kept asking me if I wanted to eat dinner there or leave early and I said I wasn’t hungry. That’s when he realized we needed to leave! I wake up hungry, so for me to skip breakfast or not have an appetite, it means I need to crawl back into bed!

I’m hoping to take this afternoon off from work, so we’ll see how it goes. Luckily, I have amazing co-workers. When I got in today our receptionist had turned on my space heater for me and our other administrative assistant made me some hot water for tea. I feel so loved šŸ™‚

I’ll catch up with you all tomorrow, hopefully after I’ve spent a solid 12 hours in bed!

How do you know when you’re really sick?

What’s your best cold remedy? I hate taking drugs (they make me weird), so I’m open to suggestions!

18 thoughts on “I know I’m sick when….

  1. Having as much ginger and vitamin c as I can when I’m sick is my remedy. So usually I might have a fresh squeezed juice with apple, orange, ginger, carrot and celery (I buy it as we don’t have a juicer), I then pop vitamin c tablets like candy! I also eat oranges and kiwi fruit, if it is a sore throat I drink hot water with lemon squeezed into it and a teaspoon of honey. If it is a headcold I put a few drops of eucalyptus oil into a bowl of bowling water and then do the tea towel over the head trick and breathe in as much of the smell as I can stand, it really clears your nose out.

    Hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

