Home » Life » Weekend Happenings

Weekend Happenings

Good moooooorning!! I’m in a fantastic mood this morning for 2 reasons:

1) I’m all better! Thank you Z-pack, soup made by Riley, multiple naps and oranges.

2) This is my last week of work before the holidays. I get 2 glorious weeks off for Christmas and I cannot wait!

Here are some of my weekend highlights, with some pictures:

1) Italian Wedding soup Friday night. My favorite kind of soup!

Italian wedding soup

2) Shopping for Christmas presents on Saturday (and Sunday). The guest bedroom has officially been turned into “Christmas Central” since I’m just collecting all the toys and gifts in that room to wrap later. I can’t leave wrapped presents under the tree because….well, because of this:

Coco lazy

She seems sweet and serene sitting on my lap like a sloth, but put some wrapping paper in front of her and she turns into a demon cat.

3) Riley cooking dinner Saturday night: a huge salad (spinach, tomatoes, avocado, green peppers, red onion, croutons, and feta cheese), steak and baked sweet potato fries. Perfect!

Big salad

Steak and sweet potatoes

4) Lots of snuggles by the fire with Coco. Sorry for the blurry picture- Riley can’t take an iPhone picture to save his life.

Kelly and Coco by fire

5) Running the Christmastown Dash 8k Sunday morning!

Before Christmastown dash

I won the race!!! Just kidding, that’s silly. 874 other people did better than me, but I survived with only 2 coughing fits, which is all I could have hoped for after last week! Busch Gardens has a ton of hills and the ground was pretty slippery from the rain the day before. I could definitely feel that I was going slower than normal because of that and the bronchitis, so my final time ended up being 53:24. I would have liked to be under 10 minute miles, but oh well!

I’m off to the office for the day now. This week promises to be filled with lots of work and countless hours staring at my computer screen reading a million applications, essays, and recommendation letters, but I’m ready! The 5-days-till-vacation countdown starts now. 🙂

What was the highlight of your weekend?

Do you get a good holiday break from work?

22 thoughts on “Weekend Happenings

  1. My cat went nuts when I was wrapping gifts too! She loves to get into so much trouble. I’m glad you’re feeling better. Italian Wedding soup can fix most ailments… at least as far as I’m concerned.

  2. woo hoo – I am so glad you are feeling better!! I also love that you aer using the guest bedroom for Christmas central – I do the same thing! And totally jealous of your 2 weeks of vacay – sounds ah-mazing!!

  3. Mmm I looooove wedding soup! Your food pics always look so good. And that race sounds like fun! I also have off starting this saturday and don’t have to go back until January 2nd and I’m SO EXCITED!!!!

  4. Congrats on managing to tacke the race amidst your sickness- champion!

    So- I’ve been to an Italian Wedding before but we weren’t given any soup lol- any idea why it’s called that? I’ve had it before and its really good but I never understood the connection. Loving your photography by the way- faceplant that salad.

    • I’ve wondered why it’s called that too! You inspired me to consult the internet, where I learned that: “wedding soup” is a mistranslation of the Italian language phrase “minestra maritata (“married soup”),” which is a reference to the fact that green vegetables and meats go well together.

      Yay for learning stuff, haha!

    • My cat loves all paper. We stopped buying her real toys years ago when we realized we could ball up pieces of paper and throw them around. That and nail files- it’s really strange.

      Only 4 more days till we’re on break!

  5. Kelly, I’m so happy you’ve finally started feeling better. Just in time to celebrate the last couple days leading up to Christmas!

    Please do me a favor and tell Riley he made a beautiful salad. I’m quite impressed =) Ha Ha!

  6. He wanted me to come to California to instruct him and be a
    consultant for his films. Click here about Philosophy of Gung Fu for more info.
    Obviously not to be left behind are his devoted comrades,
    Monkey, Crane, Tigress, Viper and Mantis, together known
    as The Furious Five.

Leave a Reply

