Home » Daily food & workouts » Favorite Pinterest Finds

Favorite Pinterest Finds

Good morning! It’s another busy day in Kelly-land today. Last night I got home from work around 7:00, then Riley and I headed out for date night. We went to our favorite local restaurant for 1/2-price wine night and dinner. We split a red blend and I had a crab cake sandwich with fries for dinner. It was amazing, as usual! They make their fries from scratch and they’re some of the best fries I’ve ever had.

O&A Crab cake

It was nice to unwind with a glass of wine and catch up with Riley after the crazy day I had yesterday. Not surprisingly, though, I didn’t last long after dinner and was in bed by 9:00.

This morning, I got up at 4:30 and hit the gym for some running and abs. I had total ADD on the treadmill today and did sprints, walking uphill, and everything in between for 25 minutes. I spent the rest of my workout doing some ab work with a medicine ball. Again, no real plan, I just did whatever moves I felt like doing.

For breakfast, I poured a bowl of TJ’s granola cereal and topped it with some banana slices and big dollop of peanut butter.

Cereal and PB

Today is our annual office Chili Cook-off, and I’m pumped! I actually started it 5 years ago and it’s become a yearly tradition. I’ll share more tomorrow once I know who wins. I gotta keep my recipe secret for now cause you never know who’s reading πŸ˜‰

I’m off for now, but before I go I thought I’d share some of the recipes and workouts I’ve been loving on Pinterest lately!

Favorite Pinterest Finds

People get all inspired and crafty around the holidays and I love it. I usually just look at the pictures and go, “ooh that looks nice,” but with 2 weeks coming up I’m trying to find some projects to keep me busy. If you know me at all, you know it’s not good for me to have too much time on my hands. I get…..antsy. I’m sure Riley would have another word for it, but let’s just say I do much better when I have goals.

I’m making it my mission to do two things during my break: spend lots of time with friends and family, and tackle some Pinterest projects!

Here are some of the goodies I’ve found recently that I want to try (the pictures link to the pins if you want to check them out):

1) Panera Autumn Squash Soup recipe. I’m obsessed with that soup, so this recipe looks like a great re-creation of it.

Panera Autumn Squash Soup

2) These sweet potato latkes. Give me sweet potato EVERYTHING.

Sweet Potato Latkes by Heather Christo

3) Davida’s lentil and sweet potato salad. I know, more sweet potatoes. I can’t help it, ok?

Lentil and Sweet Potato Salad

4) Ukrop’s Chocolate Chess Pie. I know this doesn’t seem like much if you didn’t grow up in Richmond, VA, but this means everything. This is the greatest chocolate pie you’ll ever eat in your life (no, I’m not just being dramatic). I’m not sure if this is the exact recipe or a close replica, but I’m trying it out for sure.

THE Ukrop's Chocolate Pie recipe (Richmond, VA)

5) This workout. I love that it doesn’t require any equipment, so I could do it at home!

5-4-3-2-1

I’m excited to tackle some of these great Pinterest finds while I’m on break! Hopefully I can keep from driving my husband crazy πŸ˜‰

What are you loving on Pinterest these days?

Do you always have a plan when you go to the gym or do you like to just wing it? I try to have a plan, but some days (like today), it’s a miracle I even show up!

27 thoughts on “Favorite Pinterest Finds

  1. I can’t even handle all of the amazing things I’ve been seeing on Pinterest these days. I want to make them ALL, but somehow I can just never seem to find the motivation to do so. I used to be super crafty as a kid, so it kind of makes me sad that some often at has died off. Maybe something to focus on in the new year…

  2. I love the pinterest smoothie recipes I keep finding! I usually go to the gym with a plan on the weekdays and no plan on the weekends, its always nice to relax and take your time doing what you feel!

  3. Oh man do I need to start tackling my pinterest! I have over 1600 pins and I think I’ve made maybe 3? Awful, I know.

    Hope you enjoy the lentil salad! I’ve made it 3 times now and I LOVE it. Can’t go wrong with goat cheese πŸ™‚

  4. I have found so much amazing stuff on Pinterest!!!! πŸ™‚ I have so many recipes on there I want to try but… Alas, I tend to pin and then forget. I WILL TRY MY BEST to make some things when I am home for the holidays though! πŸ™‚

    Oh and I am so regimented that I wake up every morning and work out before anything else! No winging work outs for me!

  5. Those Sweet Potato Latkes look delicious! As does the crab cake sandwich you had for dinner.

    I can be so OCD when I do timed workouts too, like when I run on a treadmill it either has to be for a set time or distance otherwise I can’t cope.

    I pin everything on Pinterest from humour to recipes, to clothes I can’t afford. All the things πŸ˜‰

  6. Your dinner out sounded so nice. We never go out during the week because my workout is usually in the afternoon so by the time I get home and shower it’s almost 8:00 and then I don’t want to go anywhere. One more reason to be an early riser!

    Davida’s salad did look so good and now I’m curious about that pie!

    • We hardly ever go out during the week either, but we desperately needed something fun to look forward to! Sometimes it’s nice to have a little fun during the week to break it up and you find some of the best restaurant deals too!

  7. Depending on the type of workout, I generally need a plan but if its car-DIE-o, then it’s fair game πŸ˜‰

    Crab cake sandwich….I wouldn’t mind being in Kelly Land to have that. Pinterest still confuses me. So much… pins.

  8. I like to keep a plan for my gym schedule, but on the weekends/holidays it’s hard to stay consistent!

    Those sweet potato latkes look soo good I’ve totally changed up my dinner recipes to make them tonight! πŸ™‚

    xoxo
    Lisa @ The Skinny on Health

Leave a Reply

