Home » Food & Recipes » Annual Admission Chili Cook-Off

Annual Admission Chili Cook-Off

Happy Thursday, everyone! Yesterday was our office-wide chili cook-off. I look forward to this every year because it’s the last time our office gets together as a group before the holidays. We have a TON of food, do a white elephant gift exchange, and of course, compete over chili.

I wanted to do something different this year so I consulted my best idea spot (Pinterest, of course) and found this awesome recipe from Skinnytaste: Chicken Taco Chili. It looked super easy, which I love, and also healthy. I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I pre-cooked the chicken cause I was weirded out by the idea of putting raw chicken in the chili.

It turned out to be pretty darn delicious!

My chili- chicken taco chili

My goal every year is to beat my arch-nemesis in the cook-off: Curtis. Curtis is one of the few people who’s worked with me ever since I started and he’s been a huge mentor to me. We have so much fun trash-talking and trying to beat each other every year! He usually wins, though, because he’s a much better cook than I am.

curtis

Once everyone started to arrive, the food tables filled up and it was time to start sampling!

Chili line-up

snack table 1

snack table 2

In the end, I didn’t win and neither did Curtis- he and I actually tied! Everyone had awesome chili this year and another girl ended up taking the top spot. It’s ok, though….next year 🙂

After eating, we all traded gifts in the white elephant exchange (some call it dirty santa? I don’t understand either name).

office tree

I lucked out and came home with two bottles of wine- score! After all the celebrations it was back to work for the rest of the day. I think the cook-off was a huge success and I love putting it on every year!

Last night I stayed up past my bed time watching Home Alone, so no early workout for me today. I may try to sneak in a yoga class tonight if I don’t have to do Christmas shopping- I’m waaaay behind in that area.

Hope you all have a great Thursday!

Does your work put on any good holiday parties?

What’s your favorite kind of chili? Feel free to post links to your best recipe!

19 thoughts on “Annual Admission Chili Cook-Off

  1. I watched Home Alone last night too! It’s been a few years since I’ve seen it and I can’t believe I don’t watch it every Christmas — it’s one of my favourites! It feels so strange to watch it now that I’m older, though — MC seems so tiny!

  2. I guess a tie is better than losing! I was never a fan of the chili cook off at my old job because I can’t eat meat which limited me to one kind, if I was lucky. But I can see why it’s fun for meat eater.

    Score on the bottles of wine!!

  3. That chilli you made sounds and looks like it was delicious, I think you were robbed of the winning title there 😉

    Awesome that you got 2 bottles of wine! Nothing worse than bad Kris Kringle presents or White Elephant as you guys call it 😉

    I thought I was all done with my Christmas shopping but I still have more to go unfortunately.

  4. I say this all the time, but I am soooo jealous of your job and the awesome food you’re always eating! Although I shouldn’t complain because we are actually having a potluck at work tomorrow! My company is tough to plan events for since we’re all over the city during work hours and never in the office (I’m a job coach for high school kids with disabilities so I’m always out at my student’s job sites) but the student I’m working with tomorrow actually works in our office so she and I planned a little mini party tomorrow! I’m baking funfetti cupcakes from a mix because she requested them 🙂

Leave a Reply

