Home » Life » Post-Christmas Confessions

Post-Christmas Confessions

Happy Friday, everyone! I hope you all have been loving the holidays so far. I had an amazing Christmas and loved spending time with my friends and family. Now that it’s over, however, I have a few confessions to make…

Post-Christmas Confessions

1) There are two types of people when it comes to Christmas being over: The type that leave the tree up until well past New Year’s, leave their outdoor lights up through February, and drag the festiveness out as much as possible. Then there’s the type that take everything down the second Christmas is over, frantically clean the whole house in preparation for the new year, and are immediately ready to make a fresh start.

This leads me to my first confession: I’m the second type. It’s not that I don’t like Christmas. I do. It’s just that once it’s over I’m soooo ready to move on. I want a clean house back and I want to use my TV remote again without having to reach my arm around a tree to change the channel.  Which leads me to part 2 of this confession: I took all the Christmas stuff down last night. The tree, garland, stockings, everything. It’s all gone and I love it! I did this last year too and I don’t even care.

2) I’m never buying Coco a real toy ever again. She spent all week playing with ribbon, wrapping paper, and sitting in shopping bags. You can see the neglected cat-nip toy behind her.

IMG_2764

3) I don’t want to look at a cookie, brownie, pie, or any other sweet for a long time. For weeks leading up to Christmas, all I saw on the internet were recipes for holiday sweets and just reading them all gave me a tummy-ache! I like sweets, but sparingly. When I made carrot cake a couple weeks ago, I only ate one slice out of the entire cake.

I made two attempts at holiday baking: one was a batch of chocolate cupcakes that turned out crappy. After eating half a cupcake I ended up throwing out the whole batch.

My second attempt is still in the fridge (see giant, un-opened cookie dough roll):

IMG_2804

Epic fail on the holiday domestic front. Now we have all kinds of cookies, brownies, and other goodies that have been given to us taking over our kitchen. Looks like Riley will be enjoying them by himself because I can’t even look at another cookie!

4) I’m all shopped out. I’m avoiding stores for at least a week until all the Christmas stuff is gone and people are back to school/work/sanity. I got some gift cards that I’m excited to spend, but there’s been a little too much consumer frenzy in the air recently for my taste.

This also goes back to my first confession- the throngs of people digging through 70% off Christmas sales get on my nerves because in my mind Christmas is over. I’ll go back to Target when they’re featuring cleaning supplies and spring decorations (I feel like this post is making me sound like a total Scrooge, but I promise I’m not!).

5) I love not having to work out at 5AM right now. I went to the gym at 8:30 the other day and it was heaven. The sun was out and I was awake enough to know what I was doing. I’ve also been spending some time over at the yoga studio taking hot yoga and Barre classes. I’m happy to report that the holidays have not disrupted my workout schedule at all!

That’s all for now! On tap for today: A quick 2-3 mile run around the neighborhood, going in to the office (I know I’m technically “off,” but we all had to go in two days over break so we don’t get behind), going to a hot yoga class, then it’s homemade pizza night! My parents got us a new pizza stone for Christmas so we can’t wait to try it out.

Hope you have a great day!

What’s your post-Christmas confession?

9 thoughts on “Post-Christmas Confessions

  1. Ahhh I’m a fan of the holidays, and here in Puerto Rico we have the Three Kings day in January 6, then the “octavitas” later. So yeah we have the longest christmas on earth, but I don’t mind because I do love decorations 😀 On my family the tree usually stays until January 7-10. However, everyone is different, and I know people that don’t even like the tree, not even for a day :0!

  2. I’m kind of a mix between the two types of Christmas people – I leave my decorations up until New Year’s, then take them down as soon as I have a free hour or two. And I love shopping the Christmas clearance section because I hate paying full price for holiday stuff, but there’s usually not anything good left since I don’t get there right when the store opens. But I do agree that my house needs to be clean and organized for the new year – I’m going out to buy new bins today so that I can reorganize my closet!

  3. hahahahaha maybe you should convert to Judaism and then you won’t have to worry about any of the above lol! Christmas is a novelty for me so I get super into it but if I wasn’t dating someone who celebrated Christmas it would probably pass by and I wouldn’t notice!

  4. We can be scrooges together- I didn’t even put up a tree and so have none of the clutter associated with it. Don’t even get me started on the sales…I nearly got stilletto’d walking past a ladies shoe shop. (Our post Xmas day sales = your black Friday). I’m ready to bring back the savoury recipes- starting with a sweet potato and feta pancake. (My mum said it tasted bready so you’d like it :P)

  5. I have sooooo much cleaning to do, haha. I can barely wade through my bedroom! Luckily, I was able to pawn off most of my Christmas cookies, so I don’t have that problem 😉 Happy New Year Kelly!

Leave a Reply

