Home » Daily food & workouts » Catching up- back to the real world

Catching up- back to the real world

Hey everyone, I’m back! It felt really good to unplug for a while and enjoy the holidays, but I missed you! I had a great time relaxing and enjoying my time off. I had a long list of things I wanted to accomplish during the holidays and most of it didn’t get done-whoops! I thought I’d give a quick recap of my time off with a couple lists.

Things I didn’t do:

  • Work out every day. I worked out a good amount, but I also allowed myself to just veg out and sleep in if I wanted to.
  • Try any of the Pinterest recipes I wanted to make. Not a single one got made. I did eat raw cookie dough out of the package while standing in front of the fridge, however.
  • Organize the closet, pantry, kitchen cabinets, etc. Every time IΒ  said I was going to do it, Netflix said, “but I’m right here!” And Netflix always wins.
  • Run. I only ran twice in the last two weeks, but I didn’t really mind all that much!
  • Worry over food. I indulged in our yearly New Year’s Day Papa John’s and didn’t feel the least bit bad.
  • Go out for New Year’s Eve. We’ve gone out for the past few years, but decided to stay in this year. We set up a bunch of finger foods to munch on, drank a lot of champagne, and rang in the new year from our hot tub. At first, I worried it would be boring compared to the past few years, but it ended up being really fun (and a lot cheaper!).

NYE Spread

NYE champagne 2

Things I did:

  • Took a lot of hot yoga and Barre. My 1-month trial at Studio South ended yesterday, so I packed in as many classes as I could. It felt so great to stretch out my muscles and enjoy some lower-impact workouts.
  • Got completely addicted to watching Gossip Girl on Netflix. How did I never watch that show before? It’s terrible and wonderful all at the same time. My new addiction resulted in many afternoons that looked like this:

Coco and bella lounging

  • Walked Bella almost every day. Poor Bella doesn’t always get the attention she should when we’re busy, but I had the time to walk her for 30-60 minutes a day, so I did. She LOVED exploring the neighborhood with me every day and I need to find a way to walk her more once I go back to work.
  • Slept in, relaxed by the fire, read magazines, and played with my pets. Bella has become obsessed with how many toys she has and can never just play with one. I’ll put them all away, but then she goes and gets them one-by-one and lines them all up in the middle of the room. It’s adorable.

Bella with her toys

  • I set some good goals for myself for the new year, which I’ll talk about tomorrow. I’m not really big on resolutions, but I think a new year is a great time to re-evaluate and come up with positive changes you can make moving forward.
  • Spent a lot of time with Riley. We went to the movies (Anchorman 2 = Terrible. The Hobbit in 3D = Visually amazing!), ate out a few times, and hung out at home.
  • Created a Workouts page on the blog. I’d been meaning to do this for a while, but now you can see all my favorite workouts in one spot!

All in all, I had a great break! As usual, I didn’t accomplish half of what was on my to-do list, but now I’m thinking it was meant to happen that way. I feel rested and ready to get back into the swing of things. I’m also ready to get back to some cleaner eating and a more structured workout schedule. Speaking of which, let’s talk about how I started my morning!

Workout & Breakfast

Today’s wake-up call hurt a bit since I’ve been sleeping in for two weeks. When the alarm went off at 4:30, I hit snooze before finally dragging myself out of bed.

Once at the gym, I hopped on the adaptive motion trainer for 35 minutes of intervals from level 5-20. I planned on running, but then realized I wanted to watch an episode of Gossip Girl on my phone while doing my cardio (I told you, I have a problem). My cardio session was followed by 10 minutes of ab work with a medicine ball, then some stretching.

Breakfast today was a Greek yogurt bowl. I threw in vanilla Greek yogurt, banana slices, blueberry meusli (Trader Joe’s), and some chia seeds. I poured myself a glass of unsweetened vanilla almond milk on the side. Delicious!

Greek yogurt and muesli bowl

I’m off to start my work week, but I can’t wait to catch up later. Have a great day!

What did you do for New Year’s?

Name one highlight of your holiday celebrations

33 thoughts on “Catching up- back to the real world

  1. haha I have been binging on Gossip Girl reruns too! I accidentally stayed up until 1am last night because I couldn’t quit! I just recently finished Pretty Little Liars, and I can’t decide which is better!

  2. GG is an absolutely brilliant show — I actually ended up binge watching the entire series twice because I loved it that much πŸ˜† And I didn’t end up doing anything crazy on NYE either. It was too cold to go downtown and watch the fireworks, so a bunch of us just hung out, played board games, and drank champagne all night. No complaints!

  3. Hahah it’s so funny about your Netflix problem because I HAVE THE EXACT SAME ONE. A few weeks ago, I started watching Dexter, and am already almost done with season 8. It basically consumes my life and I’ve been watching it on my phone at the gym as well too haha!

    What did we get ourselves in to ;)?

  4. It looks like a great and much needed break, so don’t harp over the to do list that didn’t get done πŸ™‚ Your body was craving this down time! New Years Eve in the hot tub sounds like the BEST way to ring it in, in my opinion πŸ˜‰ Good luck getting back into the groove of things!

  5. I also barely got anything productive done over break πŸ™‚ Between run streaking and hosting large groups of my friends almost every other day, I’m actually tired! This weekend I came down with a cold so today while I’m home sick I plan on putting away the Christmas tree and cleaning. It’s gotta get done somehow!

    Also, my dog (also named Bella!) does the same thing with her toys! She’s super smart though, so she knows what their names are and will bring us the correct ones! She just got a Bumble toy (from Rudolph) and whenever we say “Where’s the Bumble?” she picks him out of the pile and brings hime over! So cute!

  6. Ahh I love Gossip Girl too! The same hing happened to me so don’t feel like you have a problem, the show is just addicting πŸ™‚ . My New Year’s was similar, I just turned 21 but I am currently on a medication that is dangerous for me to drink, so instead of being the DD and dragging my drunk friends to the car I hung out with my parents one last year ! One highlight of my holiday celebration was getting to go see the Columbus Zoo lights with my mom!

  7. Oh is there a pinterest pin for eating cookie dough huh? πŸ˜‰

    Gossip girl- such a good show. Wait, did I just admit that? Glad your on the bandwagon now! NYE I had some wine. Wine is gross. But wine was free. Thus wine was drunk. Never again.

  8. Hey Welcome back. I took a few days off too It was well needed. I love your confessions. How do you like Barre class? I’ve been meaning to try it but I only shell out 20-30 bucks for classes I know are good!

    • It’s a lot of fun! I wouldn’t pay that much per class to take it regularly, but if I got a deal I’d sign up for more for sure. It just works a totally different set of muscles, so even if you run and lift regularly you’ll still feel it the next day!

  9. Sounds like you had a fabulous Holiday! I’m pretty jealous y’all have a hot tub. What a perfect way to bring in the NY. Definitely out shines going out and dealing w/ the crowd.. and cold weather.

    Hope you had a fabulous first day back @ work. Can’t wait to hear all about the goals you’ve set for yourself.

Leave a Reply

