Home » Daily food & workouts » New goals for 2014

New goals for 2014

Good morning! It’s been pretty uneventful since we caught up yesterday, but a couple good things happened, including this chocolate-filled croissant that I got from work during my 4:00 desperate hunger streak:

Chocolate croissant

It was completely necessary and worth the calories. For dinner, Riley and I ordered Chinese takeout cause we were too lazy to cook. I ordered wonton soup and a dinner of steamed shrimp, chicken, and veggies on steamed rice.

Chinese food collage

Ordering Chinese food can be tricky and there are a lot of dishes out there that are total calorie bombs. By ordering the steamed platter I was able to top it with some low-sodium soy sauce and sriracha to add flavor and keep it healthy. I also could feed a small army with the amount of food they gave us, so it looks like I’ll be eating Chinese leftovers for the rest of the week!

Now on to my whining of the morning:

Screen shot- weather

I know to many of you up north this doesn’t seem like a big deal, but it is. I live in Southeastern VA for a reason: it should never get this cold! I’m bundled up in every article of clothing I have, so I hope I don’t see anyone important at work today. Because of this miserable weather, I was too scared to get up at 4:30 to work out, so we’ll have to talk about my New Year’s goals instead this morning!

I know last week the internet was filled with people’s resolutions and how to stick to them, so I figured I’d share mine. It’s not a long list, but I think it’s important not to overload yourself with huge and lofty goals all at once. Little changes add up!

2014 goals

1) Plan ahead more.

Why: I always see people prepping food on Sundays and writing out their workout plans. I’ve never really done this much, but I want to try moving forward because I think it’ll help me step up my workouts and meals.

Planner

How: I can’t be productive on Sundays. It’s my lazy day! To stay on top of this goal, I’m going to do most of my planning on Friday before I leave work for the weekend, because that way I’ll still be in a “planning” state of mind. Heading into the weekend, I want to have a grocery list, meal ideas, and workout plan already set.

2) Go to a yoga class once a week.

Why: I loved taking classes over the break and remembered how much I love those types of workouts. While running and circuit workouts are still my favorites, there are a ton of benefits to practicing yoga and I want to make it part of my weekly routine.

How: This is where my pre-planning comes in! I’ll schedule my yoga workout ahead of time so that I’ll stick to it. Yoga at the studio I like is pretty expensive, so I’m going to rotate taking class there with taking some of the yoga at my own gym.

3) Save more money

money

Why: I haven’t been much of a saver in the past few years because we couldn’t really afford to. Now that my car is paid off (I made my last payment in December!) I want to make a concrete plan to set aside more money every month.

How: Every time I get a paycheck, I’ll transfer a set amount of money to savings before I do anything else. I also found some great ideas from this article about easy ways to save, such as shopping around for insurance. I already called my cable company and got $40 off my monthly bill just by asking!

4) Make 1 healthy food swap a month

Why: I have a pretty healthy diet overall, but there’s always room for improvement. I’d like to clean up my diet just a little bit more this year.

How: I think one swap a month is totally reasonable without completely overhauling things. A couple examples of swaps I made last year are buying almond milk instead of dairy, trading white bread for Ezekiel bread, and regular yogurt for Greek. My strategy for remembering this is to use my day planner. I’m putting in a note for the beginning of every month to evaluate what’s in my kitchen and finding one swap that I can make permanently moving forward.

And that’s it! I’m really happy with these goals and I know I can manage them because they’re not too lofty.

Now I’m off to brave the cold for the day. Hope you all stay warm and safe!

Name one of your goals for the new year

How cold is it where you are?

26 thoughts on “New goals for 2014

  1. One of my goals this year to is not let the little things get to me and stress me out, letting things go when it is not a huge deal. It is so cold where I am that our classes have been cancelled the last two days !

  2. Planning takes care of a LOT of problems. I finally just bought in to the ezekiel bread hype and tried some-love it! I don’t eat much bread, but when I do want some toast it’s an easy fix!

  3. Awesome goals! I think planning is key – and figuring out when it works with your schedule to plan is really smart too. I do most of my planning on Friday because I go to the grocery store on Saturdays. And I love how chinese takeout always leaves you with tons of leftovers. perfect for lunches for the rest of the week!

  4. I also need to work on saving more money! I’m shopping around for the best bank to open a savings account in, but I think USAA might be my best choice.

  5. I understand how that is freezing for you. Do you even have the clothes ready for it?! Haha I have actually been enjoying reading about the cold for all the southerners who aren’t ready for it and have never dealt with it πŸ™‚ A healthy swap that I love is using plain Greek yogurt for sour cream! You will never taste the difference, and I’m quite picky so this is tried and true πŸ™‚ Maybe that can be your January swap?

  6. I try to set one large, main, semi-ambiguous/room-for-some-wiggling goal. Last year it was to get out of my comfort zone/push myself more, and I did well! This year it’s to save more money. I find that a lot of the times I’ll shop out of boredom and I really don’t need to be doing that…I could have so much more in my savings account if I just took whatever unnecessary thing/s I was buying and instead of buying them, put that money into my savings. So, yeah, saving money! That, and continue to push myself out of my comfort zone πŸ™‚

    I live in California…so, it’s about 55 right now which is nice. I wouldn’t mind it being a little chillier, and boy do we need rain. I’m hoping it’s around the corner, but I guess until then I’ll enjoy the mild temperature πŸ™‚

    • I love your goal! I also find myself spending money on stuff I don’t need, especially if I’m in Target!

      I saw a really funny video of weather reporters in LA talking about the “terrible” weather when the wind was just slightly blowing. I wouldn’t mind some Cali weather right about now!

  7. We’re not going to talk about the weather over here. Nope. Out of sight, out of mind. But I love how you shared not only your goals, but how you’re going to go about carrying them out. I think having a plan of action definitely helps in achieving what you set out to do, so I’m thinking’ you’re going to kick some butt this year πŸ™‚

  8. Okay, is it just me or have you been changing up blog themes recently? I swear it was different yesterday haha- but it could be my sickness playing tricks.

    Solid set of goals there- I like how none of them are too extreme but doable! I am also so confused as to where VA is or what it even stands for…I thought Williamsburg was in Brooklyn in NY. ahh American cities and states…

    • I changed my theme over the holidays, it was new on Monday haha.

      And you are too funny- Williamsburg, VA is where America all got started. It’s the same place as the first real settlement in Jamestown. I always love how when I run through the colonial streets I’m running where George Washington walked! There is also a Williamsburg in Brooklyn, but we were first πŸ˜‰

  9. I Love your blog! I always follow and look forward to reading it, great inspiration during my week! Glad to see ur back to the grind. πŸ˜‰

  10. Pingback: 40 minute treadmill challenge | Kelly Runs for Food

  11. Pingback: Random Fun Friday | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

