Home » Daily food & workouts » Turning around a bad day

Turning around a bad day

Good morning! I’m so happy it’s a brand new day because yesterday was….well….bad. Work was crazy stressful and I had a big project dropped on me that I wasn’t expecting, so I was feeling a tad stressed.

By the time I got home from work, I was tired and cranky. Unfortunately, Riley was also cranky from a bad day. Two cranky people in one room? No bueno. I was so grouchy I actually got MAD at him that he had a late lunch and wasn’t hungry for dinner. It went down like this:

Riley: Sorry, I didn’t have any time for lunch today so I ate as soon as I got home, which was an hour ago.

Me: So I guess you’re not gonna have any of the tilapia I planned to make?!! Great, just great!

Riley: Um, I don’t know what you want me to do about this….

Me: Nothing….Absolutely nothing! Forget the fact that I actually planned meals for the first time in forever and you don’t want any of it. It’s FINE.

To say I over-reacted would be an understatement….I quickly realized this, however, and got started on dinner. Making the conscious decision to get over myself helped me turn around my whole night. I made an awesome dinner, too!

Tilapia and salad

I followed this recipe to make the tilapia. The lemon butter & caper sauce turned out wonderfully and the fish had the perfect amount of crisp on the outside. For my side, I made quinoa with feta, tomato, red pepper flakes, and olive oil. A small salad rounded out the meal and I was stuffed!

Tilapia and quinoa

After dinner I poured myself a generous glass of wine and curled up on the couch to enjoy the magazines that came in the mail today. I have a small magazine obsession and have stacks of them all over the house. I also subscribe to a lot of magazines s0 I can get something other than bills in the mail. Makes the mail experience much more enjoyable!

Magazine stack

It felt great to put my crappy day behind me and I ended the evening on a much happier note!

Workout & Breakfast

I got to the gym at 5:00 this morning for my workout. The gym is still undergoing construction to fix the water damage and won’t be done until the first of February, so it was a tad crowded still. I did 20 minutes of intervals on the adaptive motion trainer, then spent the rest of my gym time working my legs. I did several sets each of:

  • Squats
  • Seated press
  • Hip abductor
  • Front lunges
  • Back lunges
  • Curtsey lunges
  • Calf raises
  • Deadlifts

I have a feeling my legs will be sore tomorrow!

For breakfast, I made a quick breakfast sandwich and made an extra one for Riley when he wakes up.

IMG_2872

Now I’m off to work for the day! My friend Danielle is coming over tonight to watch the Bachelor and I’m about to throw some ingredients for beef stew into the slow cooker, so I’m looking forward to it. Hope you all have a great day!

How do you turn around a bad day?

What’s your favorite magazine?

What’s on the workout agenda today?

19 thoughts on “Turning around a bad day

  1. Don’t feel bad, I’ve gotten upset w/ Joshua for the same exact reason before. Thank goodness our men adore us – esp. when we make it up to them w/ a filling bfast πŸ™‚ He He. In all seriousness though, I’m happy you took control of the acttion & were able to turn your day around before it ruined your whole evening ❀

  2. To turn around a bad day I bake! It’s one of my favorite things to do! (Sounds similar to how you turned yours around 😜). Favorite magazine is Cosmo! It offers such a wide variety of things inside! I also like self (if that’s the full name I can’t remember πŸ˜‚). My workout agenda is full of lifting I am trying to increase my weights and see how it effects my body!

  3. So excited-today’s the first day I’m cleared to go back to teaching at the Y! So I have a kettlebell class over my lunch hour, and then my strength interval cycling class after work. Yay!

    As for the stress relief, I’m with the other ladies-cooking or baking saves the day. When I’m feeling like things are out of control, I turn to baking-you follow the directions and you get the results. It’s comforting. If I’m stressed about things I’ve done or choices I’ve made, I cook regular food so I can improvise and make good choices. Of course, if I’m REALLY stressed, I hop in the bathtub with a glass of wine and let the hubby make dinner-THAT’s stress relief!

  4. Oh girl, I’ve done the same thing so many times! Haha Not as many with Aaron as with my family when I lived there, but it’s just that added bit on top of a stressful day, isn’t it?! It’s the worst! Glad you ended the night on a better note πŸ™‚

  5. I hope today is a better day for you!

    I think we have all had silly fights with our partners before always over every day things but good you were able to turn your night around. Wine solves all πŸ˜‰

    I’m also watching The Bachelor at the moment but watch it a day later than you guys but I am always obsessed with it. I used to be magazine obsessed but not anymore not sure why.

  6. ‘I poured a generous glass of wine’….and you conveniently cut off the wine glass from the picture πŸ˜‰

    When I have a bad day I usually just feel sorry for myself, curse the world and realise that does nothing. But it dissipates soon enough!

  7. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been such a brat to Kyle because I was having a bad day! Like, I don’t know how he puts up with me sometime haha. That dinner looks delicious, though, and I’m glad you were able to get out of your funk!

  8. It sounds like you were just hangry aka hungry-angry πŸ™‚ That’s what I blame all of my food-themed fights with my husband on! I’m glad you still made dinner and managed to turn your day around! I usually turn around a bad day by reading a book because I get to escape reality for a bit as well as relax. It’s so nice but I hardly ever get time to do it!

Leave a Reply

