Home » Food & Recipes » Slow-cooker beef stew

Slow-cooker beef stew

Hey Everyone! As I anticipated, my legs are super sore from yesterday’s workout and I’m also pretty tired, so I decided to sleep in today and take it easy. I’ll be running all over campus today, so I should get in at least a little activity!

Yesterday I used my new slow cooker to make some beef stew, so I thought I’d share the recipe with you!

Beef stew 2

As many of you already know, I’m not the most motivated person in the kitchen. Slow cookers can make life so much easier, but there are so many recipes out there that complicate things! I don’t know about you, but if I’m using my slow cooker, that means I don’t have to take out a single pan. That’s the whole point, right? To just throw it all in there and hit start! This recipe stays true to my version of what a slow cooker is supposed to be all about!

I’m estimating the measurement for a lot of these ingredients because I literally just threw stuff in there as I went. Took me less than 10 minutes!

Slow-cooker Beef Stew

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds lean beef chunks (My store had limited options, so I grabbed one package of beef stew meat (chuck) and a package of “lean beef bites,”)
  • 2 potatoes, scrubbed and cut into chunks
  • 3 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 1/2 cans of low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 packet of french onion dip mix
  • 2-3 spoonfuls of tomato paste
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 small bag of frozen peas (don’t worry about thawing, they’ll cook up fine)
  • 1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • 1-2 teaspoons garlic powder

Turn your slow cooker on low and let it cook all day! I served my stew with some toasted bread topped with parmesan cheese. Something about cheesy bread just makes every dinner even better!

Beef stew 1

I seriously can’t wait to have the leftovers. That’s another great part of slow cooker meals is that you have lunch the next day! Beef stew may not photograph very well, but it’s a delicious and comforting winter meal.

Beef stew 4

Hope you enjoy and have a wonderful day!

What’s your favorite thing to make in the slow cooker?

20 thoughts on “Slow-cooker beef stew

  1. I have a beef taco stew slow cooker recipe that’s great, as are crock pot beans & rice and I ALWAYS poach my chicken for enchiladas in the slow cooker. Going to have to try your stew next!

  2. ..and yet another recipe I’ve seen this week that has me missing our slow cooker. Had to sell it before moving to Kuwait, and just never got another :-X Your bowl looks delicious – and your photography is great btw.

Leave a Reply

