Home » Daily food & workouts » You can do anything

You can do anything

You guys…. To say this week has been rough would be an understatement. Personally, everything is fine, but work has been killing me. I worked late last night, so by the time I left I was so out of it I went to the wrong parking lot only to find my car was on the other side of campus. Then I missed my turn for the interstate. I then spent the rest of my drive home thinking, “don’t cry, don’t cry, don’t cry.”

A grilled cheese courtesy of Chef Riley and an early bedtime helped calm the anxiety, but this morning, I woke up with that same sense of feeling behind in everything. I realized I needed to snap out of it and had a get-it-together moment with myself before hitting the gym.

I got to the gym around 5:00 and hopped on the treadmill. I had great plans to do a full ab workout after my run, but once I started I didn’t feel like stopping. I ran at a steady pace for 45 minutes, throwing in some sprints at the end. I realized a good run with some awesome music was exactly what I needed!

During my run, I kept telling myself that I can do anything. No matter how stressful things get, how behind I am, or how messy I let the house get, it’ll all work out. I have amazing co-workers who will help me when I need it, a husband who offers to make me grilled cheese when he sees how stressed I am, and friends to cheer me on.

After my run, I stretched for a little while and came home to get ready for work. Breakfast today is something you’ve seen many times on my blog: an English muffin topped with peanut butter and banana, served with a glass of almond milk.

PB English muffin

With endorphins still flowing and a renewed sense of calm, I’m ready to head into my crazy day and I will destroy that to-do list. And for all my friends reading, I hope you remind yourself whenever things get rough: you can do anything. Wish me luck!

How’s your week going so far?

25 thoughts on “You can do anything

  1. My week has been flying by! I don’t mind it at all but it’s my last semester of college so hope it slows down in the coming months 😳

  2. I can completely relate to this right now! Work has been killing me as well. I love my job but my boss kind of hurt my feelings yesterday and I ended up crying all night about it. It’s hard to keep something that happens to you at work not affect your home life. You CAN do anything! I have to remind myself of that too!

  3. Aww I’m sorry love. I can DEFINITELY relate to how you’re feeling right now, though. I’m up early every morning and am go go go for the entire day with regards to classes, studying, academic advising, blogging, eating, working out, and making time for friends. Stressful stuff!

    I’ll keep your motto in mind: I can do ANYTHING!

    Hope your day goes a bit more smoothly ❤

  4. Everyone has one of those days, I am happy you had a delicious grilled cheese to ease your mood a little. One time I spent three hours in LA traffic to travel about 20 miles. That is the only time I have ever broke down and cried in my car. I vowed to never visit that city again, but it is hard when I live in the same state. 🙂

    Tomorrow will be better, I know it.

  5. Great for getting your calm back. A good workout always does the trick. I remember I was taking a night school course, and couldn’t find my car after class in the huge campus parking lot. It was after 10:00pm and I think I did cry. Now I try to breath and reboot.

  6. Great post! I’ve been there (and actually may have been there today…) so I know how you feel! Working out always helps me get through it! Good luck tomorrow and remember tomorrow is FRIDAY!

  7. Sorry to hear you had such a stressful both day and week! I think your attitude towards it all and handling it is so awesome and true! It would be so easy to just have a pity party and potentially make yourself more stressed but I think you have really great perspective on things and I can learn a lot from you when work gets full on for me! Glad chef Riley was there to help out too 🙂

  8. So sorry to hear you had such a rough day – keep in mind though that everyone has them. You are NEVER alone sweetie ❤ I'm so happy things turned around & you were able to get yourself out of such a feeling. Fingers crossed that your weekend was wonderful – you deserved it!

Leave a Reply

