Home » Daily food & workouts » Make-ahead salads and the anti-snow dance

Make-ahead salads and the anti-snow dance

Good morning, friends! I’m running late for work, so just wanted to pop in and share a quick salad idea with you. I’ll probably be leaving work early since snow is on the way. Some people get excited about snow. I do not. I’m very much hoping the weather people are wrong and that we’ll just get rain instead!

I slept in this morning after a much-needed long night of sleep. Yesterday I spent half the day signing this lovely little pile of letters.

IMG_2900

It took me 4. and a half. hours.

I took a break halfway through signing to eat my lunch. I made a couple salads ahead of time so I’ll have some pre-made lunches ready to go and I’m so happy I did. They are delicious and super convenient!

IMG_2898

If you’ve ever seen those mason jar salads on Pinterest (haven’t we all?), then you know where I got my inspiration from. I threw these together very quickly and this little Trader Joe’s gem helped me do it:

IMG_2896

Best $2.99 you’ll ever spend! I throw this stuff into everything and it makes it easy to get veggies into a meal without having to chop them all first. Into my salad I put (in order from bottom to top):

  • Salad dressing- I used a Greek feta dressing from Trader Joe’s. If you like to make your own there’s a great recipe here: Creamy feta vinaigrette. I’m lazy, though, so I bought mine.
  • Chopped veggies. If you’re lazy you can use the pre-chopped ones like I did, or just chop your own.
  • 1/2 portobello mushroom, chopped
  • 1/2 tomato, chopped
  • 1/4 cup fat-free feta cheese
  • 1/4 cup whole-grain quinoa
  • A couple handfuls of salad greens

And that’s it! I didn’t have time yesterday to cook up some chicken, but I would definitely add that or a hard-boiled egg to add some protein.

For breakfast today I’m scarfing down some Greek yogurt and a Kind peanut butter bar before heading to the office.

Hope you all have a great day!

What are your favorite salad toppings?

Do you pack lunch for work?

19 thoughts on “Make-ahead salads and the anti-snow dance

  1. I love cauliflower and it’s crunchiness and yea! I pack my lunch everyday! I hate having to settle for fast food, haven’t had it in almost two years now!

  2. I also love that bowl of fresh veggies from Trader Joes! It makes salads so much easier! Have you tried their persian cucumbers? They are the best…I love adding those and some turkey pepperonis to the top to give my salad a little lift. Oh, and some sunflower seeds too!

  3. Love the tip about the chopped veggies at TJ! I HATE chopping veggies with a passion and usually make Kyle do all the dirty work when we’re cooking hahah! That’s one massive stack of papers, I would have probably gotten lost in them 😉

  4. One of the goals I posted today is to be more consistent and better at bringing my lunch to work. Fingers crossed I actually do this.

    Love the idea of buying a pre made salad like this, we don’t have TJ’s here but they have those packs but less fancy at the supermarket.

Leave a Reply

