Home » Daily food & workouts » Day in the life- food edition

Day in the life- food edition

Good morning and happy Wednesday! I’m currently enjoying a snow day at home, so it looks like my philosophy of “deny deny deny” didn’t exactly work yesterday. It’s a freakin’ winter wonderland out there……<sigh>

I’ve never actually posted a whole day of food on the blog, so here goes! To combine my very first attempts at documenting every single morsel, I thought I’d combine my first What I Ate Wednesday post with a peek into a typical weekday. This is a recap of yesterday, complete with all my food!

WIAWbutton

  • 4:30 AM: Wake up, curse the world. Employ multiple mind tricks to get myself out of bed
  • 5:00 AM: Get to the gym. Complete 35 minutes of cardio, 10 minutes of ab work, and some stretching
  • 6:00 AM: Head home to shower and get dressed
  • 6:40 AM: Start breakfast prep, write/finish blog post. Breakfast is 2 eggs, spinach, feta cheese, Ezekiel toast and a glass of almond milk

Eggs and toast

  • 7:15 AM: Meet my carpool buddy, Kim, to ride into work
  • 7:50 AM: Arrive at work. My office is freezing, but our reception turned my space heater on for me. Yay! Start coffee pot
  • 8:00 AM: Read some emails and blogs while enjoying cup #1 of coffee. Thank goodness for having a coffee pot in my office!

Coffee at work #1

  • 8:30 AM: Commence meetings, phone calls, application reading, etc.
  • 9:30 AM: Coffee cup #2

Coffee at work #2

  • 10:30 AM: Snack time- Trader Joe’s hummus and pita chips

TJ's hummus

  • 12:00 PM: Lunch, eaten at my desk while watching an episode Revenge on Netflix. Lunch is a Greek salad with chicken that I grabbed from the student union dining area

Greek chicken salad

  • 1:00 PM: Back to work. See 8:30 AM segment
  • 3:45 PM: Write out to-do list for the next day, clean desk, organize next-day’s work
  • 4:00 PM: Leave work early because snow is coming and stop at Trader Joe’s for supplies
  • 5:30 PM: Pour wine and enjoy pre-dinner snack while cleaning and other house-y stuff

Trader Joe's quinoa chips

  • 6:30 PM: Eat dinner- leftover salad from Sunday topped with some roasted sweet potato, extra portobello mushrooms, and feta cheese. Enjoyed with wine glass #2.

Salad with sweet potato

  • 7:30 PM: Dessert!

Trader Joe's salted dark chocolate almonds

  • 9:30 PM: Head to bed to read until I fall asleep

*Not pictured: Glass of wine #3……and #4. What can I say, I knew I’d have today off! 😉 Also not pictured- the mini Twix bar I stole from a co-worker’s office.

And that’s a normal day in a nutshell! I have healthier days, less healthy days, but I usually end up somewhere in the middle. Now that I know I’ve got a day off, I plan on relaxing, doing some work from home, and letting Bella play in the snow.
Have a great day!

What’s the best thing you ate yesterday?

35 thoughts on “Day in the life- food edition

  1. This: 4:30 AM: Wake up, curse the world. Employ multiple mind tricks to get myself out of bed.

    Love all the TJs 🙂 I love seeing what people buy there so I know what new things to look out for!

  2. Man girl, kudos to you to getting up that early to workout. I probably could if I had a gym membership, but Ive tried the early workout thing in my garage, and it just doesn’t work. Too cold and unmotivating in there! lol So I just do it after work, when I have more juices going through me!

  3. Love seeing your first WIAW post! I don’t drink coffee but I think it is awesome you have your own coffee pot. I love as well that you caught up on your tv shows at lunch, pure genius!

    I am drooling at your dinner and of course all that wine. I also laughed at the mind tricks to get out of bed, I hear ya!

  4. This was so interesting to read your first WIAW post……of course wine had to be present 😉

    You’ve reminded me that I need some feta back in my life. Best thing I ate yesterday was potatoes. Same as right now 😉

  5. Pingback: Bibimbap and PB cups | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

