Home » Food & Recipes » Turkey Sausage, Kale and White Bean Soup

Turkey Sausage, Kale and White Bean Soup

Happy Friday! It feels weird that it’s Friday, mainly since I had two random days at home due to the snow. I’m back in the office today, but I wanted to share a delicious soup with you before I go.

I love broth-based soups and I especially love it when they’re healthy! This soup is crazy easy to make, lasts for days, is filling, and delicious.

Turkey sausage soup 1

I made this soup a couple times last year and love how long it lasts! I’ll have lunch for several days thanks to this soup. I can’t take all the credit, however. The recipe is based on this one, but I made some tweaks based on stuff I like. The result is a mouth-watering and healthy soup that makes even better leftovers!

Turkey Sausage, kale, and white bean soup

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 30 minutes

Turkey sausage and kale soup ingredients

Ingredients:

  • 1 package lean turkey sausage. I used Jennie O sweet Italian turkey sausage
  • 2 small yellow onions, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium bunch kale, chopped and stems removed
  • 2 cans white beans, drained
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 2 cups water
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt & pepper, to taste

1) In a large pot or Dutch oven, saute onion and sausage over medium-high heat, until sausage is cooked through. If you get really lean turkey, you shouldn’t have to drain anything.

2) Add garlic, beans, kale, broth, water, and seasonings. Turn heat to low, cover, and cook for 30 minutes.

Turkey sausage and kale soup cooking

That’s it! This soup is incredibly easy and goes really well with garlic & Parmesan bread.

Turkey sausage soup 2

turkey sausage soup 3

As I said, this soup tastes even better the next day. I’ve got leftovers packed up for lunch today and I can’t wait to dig in! Hope you have a fantastic weekend!

Do you prefer soups that are broth-based or cream-based?

What are you up to this weekend?

11 thoughts on “Turkey Sausage, Kale and White Bean Soup

  1. I made a similar kale soup with butternut squash and some curry powder, it was delish!! I love cream based soups but prefer broth based soups for nutritional reasons.

  2. I’m definitely a brothed based soup kind of gal myself! This looks so delicious 🙂

    This weekend I went to a wedding down in wine country and had lots of fun. Now I’m trying to prep for the week ahead. Hope you had a nice weekend.

  3. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content
    seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something
    to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue
    solved soon. Thanks

Leave a Reply

