Home » Daily food & workouts » Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad

Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad

Good morning! Thank you all so much for the birthday wishes yesterday. I had a great day! I have a simple recipe to share with you all today, but first let’s talk about my workout.

I got up this morning at 4:30 and got to the gym right at 5:00. I had really wanted to run, but my knee was bothering me, so I hopped on the adaptive motion trainer instead. I’m getting old already, apparently. I also learned two things on the AMT today:

1) Putting in 29 as my age for the first time felt weird.

2) Apparently now that I’m a year older I burn more calories on that machine than I did yesterday. Who knew?

After 35 minutes of cardio I grabbed a medicine ball and completed 250 reps of ab exercises before stretching. So far my day is off to a great start!

Now onto some food….

I love making giant salads that last for a few days. When it comes together with just a few easy steps? Even better! By now, you should know better than to expect fancy recipes from me. I don’t do fancy, unless it’s cooked by someone else. You’re welcome to cook fancy food for me.

If I’m cooking, however, it has to be quick, simple, and with ingredients that can be used for more than just one thing. Sunday night I made this Southwestern chicken salad and it turned out perfectly!

Southwestern chicken salad

Southwestern Chicken Salad

Prep time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 large chicken breasts
  • 1 can yellow corn
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/3 cup red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 jalapeno, diced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 1/2 bags salad mix (I used an American mix with romaine, carrots, and radish)
  • Southwestern ranch dressing. I used store-bought, but you could make your own here and here.
  • Crushed tortilla chips (optional)

Season the chicken breasts with salt and pepper and bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 30 minutes, or until cooked through. Cut into bite-sized pieces and toss with the remaining ingredients. Top with dressing and enjoy!

Southwestern chicken salad 3

I had some sweet potato tortilla chips in my pantry and thought they’d add a nice little crunch. You could use croutons or regular tortilla chips if you want, or nothing at all. I like my salads to have a little crunch, however.

Southwestern chicken salad 2

The only thing missing that I would definitely add next time is avocado. I didn’t have a ripe one on hand, but if you make this I would recommend having some diced avocado in there as well.

That’s all for now, so have a great day!

Do you make your own dressing? If so, what’s an easy recipe?

24 thoughts on “Simple Southwestern Chicken Salad

  1. Oooh this salad looks so good! I don’t usually make my own salad dressing (I don’t use much overall) but I definitely should start doing that! Vinegar and oil is always a good dressing for me too 🙂

  2. Haha the perks of getting older?! That salad looks so good and yes- avocado!! My go to homemade dressing probably wouldn’t fit with the theme but it’s tasty- peanut butter (or any nut butter) sriracha and soy sauce and some liquid to thin out for an Asian style dressing!

  3. Looks delicious! I’ve actually been having southwestern type chicken salads for either lunch or dinner lately. However, for my dressing I use roasted red pepper hummus & crushed some chipotle pretzel crisps on top. So good!!

  4. Hahaha Year older and suddenly burning more! I think that’s so funny. I was actually figuring out calories the other day and trying to figure out how a day would give me more. lol. Great job on the awesome workout and listening to your body!

Leave a Reply

