Home » Daily food & workouts » WIAW- my life is complete

WIAW- my life is complete

You guys. Riley bought me an espresso maker for my birthday. Even though we don’t “do” presents exactly, he still decided to pick it up for me. I basically have everything I need in life now.

espresso maker

Took me about 2 tries to figure it out and now I’m hooked! This wonderful addition to my kitchen is the perfect way to kick off another week of what I ate Wednesday (well, Tuesday)….Thanks to Jenn for hosting!

WIAWbutton

Tuesday started out with a big breakfast. I’d been hungry basically since I woke up, so I scrambled 2 eggs, spinach, mushrooms, and feta cheese. I served it with 2 slices of Ezekiel toast and a big cappuccino from my new espresso maker! I made it with almond milk and it turned out great.

eggs, toast and cappucino

By the time I got settled at work, I already wanted a snack. I pulled out some sweet potato tortilla chips to enjoy while I answered emails.

sweet potato chips

For some reason I was ravenous all morning! I found an old apple from Panera buried in a drawer and ate that next. Doesn’t look great, but it did the trick.

panera apple

By 11:45 I couldn’t wait for lunch any longer and pulled out the salad I’d prepped that morning: Spinach, mixed veggies, shredded chicken, sweet potato, feta cheese, and Greek yogurt dressing. Delicious!

make-ahead salad

I got busy and didn’t have time for snacks all afternoon, though I’m sure if I’d packed extra I would’ve eaten it. I don’t know what was up with my appetite yesterday.

By the time I got home from work I was craving cheese. And a cheeseburger, but that wasn’t an option in my house. I had some Flatout bread and really wanted pizza, so I crafted my own thin-crust, cheesy pizza. On top of the flatbread I put sauce, pepperoni, mushrooms, onion slices, garlic, oregano, basil, fresh mozzarella, and shredded pizza cheese. It was gooey and delicious.

flatbread pizza

For dessert I had a small slice of red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting. I actually haven’t been feeling the sweets lately, but Riley made it for my birthday and I didn’t eat any Monday night, so I took a small sliver.

birthday cake

And that’s it! Oh, and a glass of wine. Forgot to snap a pic, but I figure you know by now that red wine is a given.

I’m loving the fact that a cappuccino can now be part of my daily routine. Today I’m making sure to pack plenty of snacks so I don’t end up eating every bit of food in my office by 11:55 again.

What’s the best thing you ate yesterday?

Are you more hungry in the mornings or afternoons? I think on days I work out I can get crazy hungry in the mornings, but on non-workout days I can go until noon before I eat (I mean, technically I can, doesn’t mean I do!).

28 thoughts on “WIAW- my life is complete

  1. Congrats on your new espresso machine!

    I’m always hungriest in the afternoon. Always, but especially on days I work out. I have a stash of snacks hidden in a cupboard in my office for emergencies, but I try to bring enough food from home every day. But sometimes you just have to eat more, and having something healthy in my cupboard is better than going downstairs & getting a chocolate bar.

  2. An espresso maker?! Gah! I was THIS close to buying one before I got my Keurig, and now I’m kind of regretting not doing it… IT just seemed so much more complicated compared to the K… And I’m WAY hungrier in the mornings. Not only that, but if I don’t eat enough then, I’ll basically be ravenous all day.

  3. Can I just say ALL YOUR FOOD looks so delicious!! Last night I made some quinoa gluten-free cookies πŸ™‚ Sooo good!

    I’m definitely hungriest in the morning and I try to eat 50% of my daily calories in my breakfast meal! Keeps me in check around dinner time πŸ˜‰

  4. So awesome that Riley got you such a thoughtful gift! I don’t drink coffee but if I did I’d consider getting one πŸ™‚

    That cake he made looked amazing. Can’t believe you only had a small slither. Kudos to him again that he made you a whole cake!

    Nom at your pizza.

    Have a great day lady!

    • It was so funny cause one layer of the cake turned out great and the other layer was falling apart. Then he asked if I could frost it cause he didn’t know what he was doing haha.

      So sweet of him to attempt baking for me, though!

  5. What an awesome surprise gift! He knew what would make you happy πŸ™‚ ha I am hungry the most the day after a run, oddly enough. I like to eat in the morning, but just from boredom. I’m most hungry between 4-5

    • Whenever I get annoyed with work I decide I need a snack break, so that must be it haha. It also makes it hard when I walk past 6 different dining spots on my way to the bathroom. How I don’t eat pizza every single lunch is a mystery. Slash miracle.

Leave a Reply

