Home » Daily food & workouts » Respecting the need for rest

Respecting the need for rest

It’s been one of those weeks where working out feels more like work than play. Where 5 more minutes in bed really IS worth it! While I don’t pre-plan my week’s fitness, I do make an effort to get to the gym or run about 4-5 days a week. For the most part, I stick to it pretty well. This week, however, has been a little different…

I’m now accepting the fact that after nearly one month of long days, 6-day work weeks, and stress, it’s finally caught up to me. I’ll confess, working out only twice so far this week is not exactly what I had planned…that said, I’m respecting the fact that I’m just. plain. tired.

cute-gif-kitten-yawning

It’s been really hard to find motivation to do anything other than crawl into bed for 3 straight days until I’ve recovered. February has officially kicked my ass.

There are countless articles and studies that tell us that rest is not only important, it’s crucial to our well-being. When we’re tired and stressed, we make poor decisions. Since I basically make a living making decisions for  college admission, it’s pretty important that I don’t mess this one up! February is crazy time in Admission Land (that’s the official term) and I feel exactly like Tina Fey in that Admission movie.

Tina_Fey_college_admissions_6001

If you think that’s not an accurate depiction, just check out this picture of me at work from two years ago. This is real life.

Kelly buried in files

Workout & Breakfast

Since I went to bed at 8:00 last night (not kidding), I was wide awake at 4:30 this morning and was actually excited to go to the gym. Since that has NOT been the case as much lately, I wanted to seize the opportunity.

I hopped on the treadmill to run for 30 minutes, throwing in some sprint intervals during the last 5 minutes. A really buff-looking girl wearing cuter gym clothes than me got on the treadmill right next to me, so it spurred on my competitive streak. Anyone else race their treadmill neighbors? After my run I grabbed some dumbbells and did a couple sets of the following:

  • Pushups
  • Bicep curls
  • Triceps overhead extensions
  • Shoulder presses
  • Lateral raises

I ended my workout with some stretching before heading home. Even though I haven’t been making exercise a huge priority this week, I’m so glad I made it this morning!

I’ve been on a major savory kick when it comes to breakfast lately, which meant eggs for breakfast again. I also love throwing whatever veggies I have on hand in with the mix. It’s also because I have a weird thing about eating plain eggs- I can’t do it. Riley calls them my “salad eggs.” In today’s mix was:

  • 2 eggs
  • Roasted sweet potato (prepped and roasted on Sunday)
  • Spinach
  • Mushrooms
  • Sliced red onion
  • Fat-free feta cheese
  • Sriracha

So good. I could eat this kind of food for every meal!

Savory eggs

Now it’s time to get ready for the work day, make myself a cappuccino to go, and head to the office. Hope you all have a wonderful Thursday!

How competitive do you get at the gym or while running? Do you race your neighbors?

18 thoughts on “Respecting the need for rest

  1. I’m actually lol-ing like an idiot to your picture amidst all that work….best. ever.

    You know my thoughts on your breakfast. Swap the sweet for white and I’d faceplant it and suffer the stinging sriracha eye sensations. I personally love the ‘unspoken foot race’ when walking in pubic lol

    • Haha thanks for laughing at my obvious misery! jk. You can never have too much sriracha, or spicy anything. When I had bibimbap for the first time I yelled at the waitress when she tried to take my red pepper sauce away.

  2. I totally agree about rest days. Yesterday after work I kept going back and forth whether or not to go to the gym…my body was super sore, my house needed to be cleaned and save the dates needed to be addressed so I took an unplanned rest day. Its important to listen to your body and go off schedule sometimes!

    • I normally am in my own zone too! This girl got right next to me, though, so I couldn’t resist. I couldn’t tell if she wanted to race me too or if she got next to me because the two best treadmills just happen to be right next to each other.

  3. You’ve definitely got to respect the need for rest. Easier said than done sometimes but with the mountain of work you have I think you need to take it easy on yourself and listen to your body.

    6 day weeks? No fun at all hopefully they are coming to an end soon?

Leave a Reply

