Home » Daily food & workouts » Spill it Sunday- Book Edition

Spill it Sunday- Book Edition

Hey, friends! Sorry I missed you all on Friday, but I just couldn’t get my life together on time. Things were crazy at work, so blogging just didn’t happen for me. Since I’m feeling more together now, I thought I’d link up with Arman today for Spill It Sunday.

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1

Spill it Sunday is where we get all nosy and learn more about bloggers behind their usual topics. Arman requires that we include a selfie, so here ya go- taken with my wine from my blogging chair.

Selfie

This week’s theme is books, so I totally had to play! I’m a bit of a closet nerd and may or may not have told Riley one time that I’m going to bed early so that I can “get my read on.” Yeah. I don’t always read the most intellectual books out there, but I’m always reading something and I love getting sucked into the separate worlds of the stories I read. So here goes- let’s get our read on!

1. Favorite novel of all time?

Oh gosh, this is hard. I’m a person that re-reads books all the time so there are probably multiple answers to this. I’d have to say Gone With The Wind is an all-time favorite.

GWTW book

So good. Seriously. My 15-year-old self is sighing at the memory of reading this 1,037 page book three times. That’s right, I read it three times. The movie was also amazing, but the book is a must-read.

2. Favorite genre (e.g. Crime, Thriller, Biography, Fitness etc)

Murder mysteries! I’m a huge fan of crime novels and thrillers. I’m currently reading Concealed in Death by J.D. Robb, which is one of my favorite mystery series. It takes place in the future and the main character is a super bad-ass female detective, a character I love to play in my daydreams.

Concealed in death

3. Favorite childhood novel/Favorite teen novel?

Nancy Drew. Again, I’ve had detective fantasies for a really long time. It currently manifests itself as an amazing ability to dig up information on people through their facebook/twitter/linkd-in/etc. profiles, but I’m sure I could have had a stellar career as a professional crime solver.

My favorites were the Nancy Drew stories where she teamed up with the Hardy Boys. They tackled ridiculous scenarios together, but I loved imagining myself as a teen detective!

HardBoysNancyDrewS2

4. Favorite Series?

Recently I’d have to say the Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon totally sucked me in! It has everything: historical fiction, romance, time travel, adventure, you name it! I read all seven ginormous books in a 4 month time span and was so sad when it ended. So sad I still re-read my favorite parts every now and then.

200px-Outlander_cover_2001_paperback_edition__120717160015

The characters were so well-developed and I got so immersed in their world that I was reading the books on my phone. At work. In line at the grocery store. In the car- just kidding, I don’t read and drive, though it’s tempting. Seriously, though. If you’re looking for a series that you can just dive into, I would check this one out! Best part? Starz Network has turned it into a series that premieres this summer and I can’t wait! I may or may not have ordered Starz for this sole reason. I can’t wait for this show to start!

Outlander 2014

5. Which book would you hope future generations will continue to consider a classic?

I hope people don’t forget about Nancy Drew. Or Harry Potter. Or the Boxcar Children (that was another childhood favorite!). In general, though, I just hope that kids will read books for fun. Any books, even if they aren’t on the summer reading lists or best sellers. I wore out my library card when I was a kid and I worry that younger generations won’t read the way we used to. Reading is the absolute best way to become a solid writer and do well in school, in my opinion, so I would encourage kids to read anything that grabs their interest!

6. Worst novel to be written?

50 Shades of Grey. Terrible. Terrible. Don’t get me wrong, I read all three books in the series because it was like watching a train crash- I couldn’t stop. But this is not good writing, story-telling, or anything really. I guess the fact that couples everywhere were “experimenting” more thanks to this series counts for something, but don’t spend real money on these books, please. I’ll never get my $30 back, so I feel the need to warn you.

50 shades

So there you go! My love of new books is always growing so please share with me which ones you’re loving!

Best book you’ve read recently?

Worst book you’ve ever read?

Do you re-read books?

11 thoughts on “Spill it Sunday- Book Edition

  1. Nom to that wine! Makes me want some right now of course 😉

    I’ve not read 50 Shades but it sounds like I didn’t miss out at all there!

    I’ve not read Gone with the wind but I did see and love the movie so I should read it.

    Worst book is definitely Second Glance by Jodi Piccoult, it was so bad I didnt finish it but I love her other books so its weird.

  2. You have a blogging chair? That is probably the most epic thing I’ve heard of this weekend. I need a blogging chair.

    I never would have picked you to have the Mystery genre of novels- Love it. Ha, I remember being in NYC during the 50 shades of Grey phenomenon- every time I was at a gym there GMA would have some new discussion about it- like how it was saving marriages or something stupid.

  3. There are certain books I re-read. I loved Christopher Pike books as a teen and have read them again as an adult. I also read The Catcher in the Rye several times. It is def my favorite novel. As a kid, I was OBSESSED with the Baby-Sitters Club books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

