Home » Daily food & workouts » A short weekend that felt like spring

A short weekend that felt like spring

Good morning, friends! It’s another Monday. How do they get here so fast? I worked Saturday, so it was another short weekend for me. The weather, however, was unbelievable! It was almost 70 and sunny all weekend and it made such a huge difference for my mood and stress levels.

After work on Saturday I spent a good 30 minutes walking with Bella, then Riley and I went out for pizza and beer. I’m not a big beer drinker, but something about a warm and sunny Saturday afternoon just makes you want an ice cold beer! Now that Riley’s started his new job, he works on the weekends, which meant early bed times for both of us! Now I won’t have to feel so guilty when I get tired at 10:00 on a Saturday.

Sunday was a great day because my mom came into town to visit! I hadn’t seen my mom in almost 2 months, so I was so excited to hang out with her. I didn’t get a picture of us both yesterday, but here’s an old one of another visit from my mom a while ago.

Kelly and mom

We went to a Mexican restaurant for lunch and ate EVERYTHING. First, we started off with a shared order of their coconut shrimp, was fantastic.

Coconut shrimp

For my main meal, I got a chicken burrito bowl topped with avocado. It was also seriously good.

Burrito bowl

We also got a drink, stuffed our faces with chips and salsa, and pretended we were in Mexico. It was a great lunch, but I was stuffed for hours!

I spent the rest of my day after she left reading with the windows open and just trying to get some relaxation in before the week started. It felt so good to sit out on my deck in short sleeves and get some sun!

Workout

This morning I woke up determined to stick to a better workout schedule than last week. I gave myself a free pass because I’ve been super stressed at work, but now it’s time to get back to it!

I woke up at 4:30 and got dressed for the gym, then got there right at 5:00. First up was cardio, so I got on a treadmill and ran for 20 minutes. To switch it up, I did 60 second rounds of the following:

  • one minute at 6.0 mph
  • one minute a 6.0 mph, 5% incline
  • one minute at 7.0 mph

The 20 minutes flew by and I was nice and sweaty. I always forget how hard running uphill is! After my run I grabbed some equipment and did the Leaner Legs working from Nike Training Club. It was 15 minutes and I could definitely feel my legs working.

NTC Leaner Legs

Now it’s time to figure out some breakfast and get ready for work. I hope you all had a great weekend!

What was the highlight of your weekend?

What’s your favorite thing to order at a Mexican restaurant?

20 thoughts on “A short weekend that felt like spring

  1. geebuz working on a Saturday? Epic. I can relate to the 10pm bedtimes recently…

    That is an acceptable amount of avocado right there. Mexican is still not particularly popular here, but anything pulled meat is always a winner.

    • 10pm is late for me some weeks haha. What’s wrong with me? I need to get a life.

      That’s sad that you don’t have a lot of Mexican where you are. We have a ton of restaurants around me and it’s awesome!

  2. Highlight of my weekend was finally getting to see The Awkward Moment with my mom we also went out to Northstar Cafe for lunch it was a great day!

  3. Mexican food is soooooo yummy!!! 10pm bedtime? Sure, is the best thing on earth 😀 sometimes I think I’m getting old, but then I think, well sleep at 10 sounds so comfy. Besides I’ll be more energize for my morning workout.

  4. That picture of you and your mum is too cute 🙂

    Glad you got to enjoy some time with Riley and some nice weather. Not cool he has to work weekends but I can totally relate to the 10pm bedtimes.

    I want to dive right in to all that mexican you had. Especially that avocado though. Nom.

    Well done on the workout. It is a new week for sure!

Leave a Reply

