Home » Daily food & workouts » WIAW- Chef Riley does it again

WIAW- Chef Riley does it again

Another week, another What I Ate Wednesday! I never participated when I first start blogging, but I’ve loved doing it over the last month. I know I love poking my nose into what other people eat, so I figured it’d be fun to join in the fun. Thanks to Jen for hosting!

WIAWbutton

Breakfast yesterday was something you already saw- scrambled eggs with spinach a feta, Ezekiel toast with almond butter.

spinach eggs

I hadn’t had almond butter in a long time and that toast was so freakin’ good I’m eating a couple slices of it today for breakfast. Tip- sprinkle some salt on top of your almond butter and it tastes even more amazing! Anyway, back to yesterday.

Not pictured is my cappuccino, but I had one of those on the way to work. A couple hours in I dug into my snack stash.

Annies cheddar bunnies

I’ll be honest. I’m not entirely sure how many handfuls I had of that stuff throughout the day. I’m pretty sure it was three, though. Yeah, we’ll go with three handfuls.

I went to lunch with a co-worker and we went to Panera. I got a 1/2 Greek salad and 1/2 fontina grilled cheese. Best grilled cheese ever! It doesn’t look it in the picture, but it’s pretty amazing. I would’ve gotten the whole sandwich, but it’s terrible for you, so…

Panera grilled cheese and salad

I saved the apple for later, so now I have a spare apple in my purse. Score!

A snack not pictured: a co-worker made some rounds with mini baklava and I ate one. It was really good.

Dinner last night was another Chef Riley creation. I’m so pumped to eat the leftovers for lunch today! He used this recipe from Food Network for Shrimp and Pancetta over torn pasta and tweaked it a little. He added onion, yellow peppers, a jalapeno, and basil. He also used pasta from Trader Joe’s that was stuffed with prosciutto. It was light tasting, but filling, and had a nice hint of lemon and white wine in the sauce.

Shrimp pasta

For a closeup of the good stuff:

Shrimp and pancetta

I had a couple more glasses of wine before turning in early. Oh and I almost forgot! I also had a handful of chocolate chips that I didn’t take a picture of because I’m hiding the chocolate from Riley. I’m hiding the chocolate because I have grand plans to make some sort of no-bake energy bite. That may or may not happen because I keep swiping chocolate chips from the bag whenever I get a sweets craving.

So there you have it! My favorite meal was most definitely Riley’s creation. Can’t wait to see what you all have been eating lately!

Best thing you ate yesterday/this week?

27 thoughts on “WIAW- Chef Riley does it again

  1. A man that cooks like Riley does; be still my beating heart! I also buy chocolate to use later that sometimes never makes it to a recipe (genetic maybe). But a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do when the chocolate monster rears it’s head! Have a great day!

  2. Geebuz how AMAZING is adding salt to nut butter….I love adding a sprinkling of it on there! What is Fontina cheese like and how have I not heard of it?!

    I echo Davs…get Chef Riley to start a food blog…and you can bring the vino.

    • I can’t believe I just starting salting the nut butter! It’s so good.
      I’m not sure how to describe fontina cheese- it’s a white cheese and it’s mild, but it’s really melty and delicious. Sorry, that description sucked haha.

  3. Oh my your breakfast looks amazing. Do you do fresh spinach in it? I need to try that so I can add some veg to my breakfast!

    New reader found you from WIAW. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Chef Riley did such an awesome job! I need to show Nick his cooking skills so he has something to aspire too ๐Ÿ˜‰ hehe

    I wish we had Panera here. Every time I see a photo of someone who has had it I want to dive on in.

Leave a Reply

