Home » Food & Recipes » Tropical banana protein smoothie

Tropical banana protein smoothie

Good morning! I have very little to report this morning since yesterday was all work work work. I did want to pop in quickly, though, to share the smoothie recipe I made this morning.

It’s supposed to be 77 degrees later today (I KNOW!) so I’m very much looking forward to today. I’ll need to find a million excuses to walk around campus, especially since I blew off the gym this morning. In honor of the warm weather, I was craving a smoothie to start my day.

This recipe was inspired by a delicious gem I’m embarrassed so say I’ve never purchased until this past weekend: coconut milk. I saw a can of light coconut milk at Trader Joe’s this weekend and grabbed it on a whim and let me tell you…this stuff is amazing. I’m already thinking of new ways I can use it!

For today, though, I put it in my morning smoothie. Only 4 ingredients are needed, but it’s one of the best, creamiest smoothies I’ve had in a really long time. I’m pretty sure if I threw some rum in there it’d make a great summer cocktail, too. Actually, now I’m convinced I need to turn this into a cocktail. Anyway, here it is:

Tropical banana protein smoothie

The coconut milk is what makes this smoothie, for sure. I’ve made this combination with almond milk before and it’s fine, but it just doesn’t have that thick, creamy texture that you get from the coconut milk. I recommend buying the light kind, especially since I used half a can! For curiosity-sake, I put the recipe into My Fitness Pal to check out the nutritional stats: 379 calories, 48 grams of carbs, 13 grams of fat, 24 grams of protein, and 8 grams of fiber. It has a good bit of sugar in it as well, but most of that comes from the fruit. Not too shabby!

I think I’m inspired by tropical-y things because I just got my time approved for vacation in May! We haven’t booked anything and I still have no idea where we’re going, but I’m busy researching all the fun places we could go. We don’t want to do any repeat trips, which sadly leaves out Mexico, Aruba, the Caymans, and the Dominican Republic. Give me ideas, please!

Anyway, hope you have a great day!

Have you ever been to one of the following places: Bahamas, Turks & Caicos, St. Lucia, Virgin Island (US or British)?

9 thoughts on “Tropical banana protein smoothie

  1. If you haven’t heard of it you should try sticking the coconut milk in the fridge it makes some yummy whipped cream! But full fat works better with this 🙂

  2. I’ve been to St. Lucia and it is absolutely gorgeous. You should go there in May! There’s a lot to do and the resorts are all really nice. Beautiful sunsets and awesome banana pancakes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

