Home » Daily food & workouts » WIAW- Sunday prep in action

WIAW- Sunday prep in action

This is another busy, 6-day work week for me! Knowing this ahead of time, I actually did some food prep on Sunday so I wouldn’t be scrambling to find meals. I rarely take the time to do this, so it was awesome to actually have meals ready to go come Monday.

Since I prepped some stuff, most of my meals have been the same Monday and Tuesday, but for today’s What I Ate Wednesday, I’ll be showing you my meals from Monday. Thanks to Jenn for hosting!

WIAWbutton

Breakfast

Eggs! I got some glorious, farm-raised and local eggs at the farmer’s market on Saturday. I cooked them up with some roasted potatoes and veggies (mushrooms, spinach, and peppers) that I’d chopped the day before. Breakfast was served with a cup of coffee (and I poured another one for the road!).

IMG_3249

Snacks

I’m trying to get plenty of veggies in this week, so I packed myself a little snack pack. I felt like a kindergartener at first, but the feeling passed when I patted myself on the back for my uber-prepared-ness.

My snack pack consisted of sliced cucumber, baby carrots, a Greek yogurt spinach and kale dip from Trader Joe’s (the best!), and some mixed nuts (also from TJs).

IMG_3250

Either from hunger or just general excitement about my snacks, I finished the whole thing by 10:00 AM. Luckily, I had a lot of meetings that kept me from taking an actual lunch break until almost 2:30. Otherwise I would’ve eaten everything before 11:00. And that would’ve made for a very grouchy Kelly by 4:00.

Lunch

For lunch I ate a pre-made salad that I also prepped on Sunday. Starting in the bottom of the container, I layered: Greek yogurt feta dressing (TJs), chopped mixed veggies (pre-chopped by chef Trader Joe, and totally worth the $2.99), chopped cucumber, grilled chicken breast meat, roasted sweet potato, chopped spinach, and feta cheese. Shake it all up and you have yourself a tasty lunch!

IMG_3252

Dinner

Dinner was leftovers. I made a baked penne with meat sauce on Sunday. I made the meat sauce from scratch with farm-raised ground beef from the farmer’s market, several veggies (mushrooms, onions, peppers), roasted tomatoes, tomato sauce, and spices (oregano, thyme, basil, red pepper). Served with plenty of mozzarella cheese on top.

IMG_3257

In case you’re wondering from that picture- yes, I did put extra cheese on top of my cheese. I’m not entirely sure why I thought I needed it, I just did. And that’s that. And finally, because I also needed it for unknown reasons, I had 3 glasses of red wine.

IMG_3258

And that’s my day in a nutshell! I realized that even in the few times I’ve done a WIAW post, I’ve never posted one that didn’t include wine…..I think I should feel weird about that, but I don’t.

As I mentioned, this is a busy week. I’ve got work in the office this morning, then I’m headed up to northern VA to speak on a college panel tonight. This basically consists of sitting on stage, saying a few words about myself, then answering some questions about how to apply to colleges. I’m literally the fastest talker on these college panels, yet they keep inviting me back, so I must do something right. Since several other university reps will also be there, many of my answers are usually, “I concur,” or “What UVA said.” Ah, the things they pay me for!

My little trip up the state includes an overnight stay, so I’ve packed my gym clothes so I can get a workout in. I’m looking forward to getting out of the office and away from the craziness for a day. Hope you all have a good one!

What’s the best thing you’ve eaten this week?

Did you do any food prep for the week?

What’s the best part of your job? What IS your job, for that matter? A lot of other bloggers don’t really talk about their work, but I’m a total workaholic, so that stuff interests me.

12 thoughts on “WIAW- Sunday prep in action

  1. All your meals look great – however the salad to go one looks the best. It could be because I’ve been on a huge sweet potato kick lately!

    Safe travels to northern VA girl & good luck speaking…. as if you really need it though πŸ™‚

  2. You should have just renamed this post ‘Ode to TJ’s’. Cheese on cheese? How is that NOT necessary!

    You know I’m jel of your job. It sounds epic. Embrace it. I work in talent acquisition and HR management on a graduate program. Not the most fun rotation right now…

  3. Safe trip!!!

    Well you know I work for a snack-ball company πŸ™‚ Even though balls baffle you (and make you giggle) I am a workoholic too! Then again my job involves sampling products, making balls, writing blogs and social media so it’s not all that shocking I’m obsessed with it.

  4. Oh don’t feel like a kindergartner ! I totally leave my ceramics class half way through to eat a snack because I get hungry during a three hour class! Haha

  5. I’m an Inside Sales Executive Assistant. What fun! I am such a workaholic too and am actually in the process of transitioning my job to one more in the health and fitness world! SO STOKED!!

    Best thing I’ve eaten this week was probably my banana/cocoa powder “ice cream” last night with frozen cherries. SO GOOD!

  6. Work, work, work — sometimes I feel like that’s all I ever do πŸ˜† But I love my job, so it’s not too horrible. Right now I’m in the process of setting up my own health/nutrition coaching business, which has been complete insanity, but I’m super excited to see things take off.

    Safe travels!

  7. Loving the 3 glasses of red wine part πŸ˜‰ and to answer your question (I’m a workaholic too!!) I am a yoga teacher and a freelance writer. And a student — getting my Creative Writing MFA. And I do count blogging as part of my job. Great post!

  8. Pingback: WIAW- And yes, there’s wine | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

