Home » Daily food & workouts » Time to start the vacation diet!

Time to start the vacation diet!

Hey, everyone! I’ve been a bit MIA for the past few days. Work got crazy and then I got sick, so it’s been crappy all around. I’m still sick, but I sound worse than I feel, so hopefully I’ll be all cured soon. I did almost nothing of note this weekend, especially since I worked on Saturday, so this will be a super quick post. Oh, and Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I’ve done nothing to celebrate my Irish-ness, but I’ll wear green today, so that’s something.

I got one picture all weekend, which was of Riley’s pizza Saturday night:

prosciutto and kale pizza

This one was a big winner! He used sauteed kale, prosciutto, and three cheeses- fontina, fresh mozzarella, and ricotta. This went into my top five for sure. I also love that he made it pretty since he knew I’d take a picture.

I’ll be needing to cut back a tad on the pizza for the next few weeks, though (I mean, within reason..), because we finally booked our vacation! I spent the whole weekend coughing, sneezing, and stalking vacation websites for hours on end, and it finally paid off.

For our anniversary in May, we’ll be going back to the spot where we got married- Playa Del Carmen, Mexico! I’m so so so so excited. Not only am I in desperate need of a vacation, but I can’t wait to be back on that beach. It was the perfect spot for our wedding, and it’s an AMAZING place to spend a week. The water is so crystal clear and the beach so clean I even got in the water in my wedding dress last time!

249627_651850604319_149921_n

If you ever have a destination wedding (which you should), I highly recommend doing a trash-the-dress session the next day. It’s so much fun and a great way to showcase your gorgeous surroundings. I can’t get enough of that water!

253604_651850504519_6099666_nPhotos by JHutch Photography

Just thinking about being back in Mexico has me so excited. We’ll be spending 6 nights at an all-inclusive over our anniversary week. Having a light at the end of the tunnel that is admission season has perked up my mood immensely!

Having a vacation booked means I’ve got 7 weeks to get bikini ready. Luckily, I haven’t been a total sloth all winter, so I’m not really worried. I’ll probably make some diet tweaks and step it up in the toning department (looking at you, arms!), but I don’t change my habits that much just because bikini season is on its way. I think if you keep up mostly healthy habits all year long you’ll always be in fighting shape. That said, my fake tan is definitely going to need some work between now and then….

I’m off to work for the day, but I’ll be back to normal tomorrow with some healthy food and workouts to share!

Where are you going for vacation this year?

Do you change your routine when you have a vacation coming up?

26 thoughts on “Time to start the vacation diet!

  1. You look so beautiful in your wedding dress in those pictures 🙂

    I am jealous of your vacation. Nick and I are probably skipping a vacation this year to save up and do a big Europe or US trip next year. I’m hoping I can swindle it to be the US so you know I can come visit you 🙂

    Well done to Chef Riley as usual.

    I hope you feel better by the way. I hear you on the crazy busy work front!

    • You totally need to come visit me!! 😉 Though I wouldn’t blame you if Williamsburg, VA doesn’t top your list of tourist destinations haha.

      Hopefully you and Nick could do a weekend thing or something. I can’t go too long without a vacation or else I go crazy!

  2. Wait. TOP FIVE?

    I think you need to do a post on Chef Riley’s top 10 pizzas. I can’t believe this is only top 5 and not number 1….I’m intrigued what #1 is.

    I need to get bikini ready too. My hot pink one is calling me. and hitting on me.

  3. Destination weddings are amazing! My boyfriend’s sister got married in Costa Rica & it was the most fabulous week ever! There’s something about everyone traveling to someplace wonderful that makes the big day even more special- you’re all away from everything together! By the way, that pizza looks amazing! I’ll have to try it! I’ve been making a mean BBQ chicken pizza but I like the idea of adding kale! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Ack! Sorry to hear shots to you’re not feeling too well, hun — hope you feel better soon!

    And there’s seriously nothing like an upcoming vacation to brighten the mood. I don’t really do much prepping prior to going on vacation, but I eat pretty healthy and try to keep active so I find that really helps.

  5. That’s awesome that you get to go back to where you got married. I’m sure you will be reminiscing. 🙂 We are going to Hawaii this year. I am super duper excited. It’s our first “big” trip. I am bikini ready except for my pasty skin!!

  6. Mexico sounds so fun! I am still trying to plan out my vacation at the beginning of May but I am so excited for it!
    I haven’t changed my routine for a vacation, but I have changed my routine up for summer!

  7. Those photos of you in your wedding dress in the sand are absolutely stunning!!! Making me excited to go to the beach next week… I am headed to Mexico on vacation, and YES I do try to switch up my eating/gym routine before I head off. I think it’s more practical to keep a consistent gym/clean eating schedule allll the time, but making things a little more restrictive and serious before a trip is great so you can feel super hot in your swimsuit on a trip!!

  8. The spot where you got married looks beautiful! My fiance and I are starting to think about honeymoon spots, and Playa Del Carmen is one of our top choices. Where did you stay for your wedding?

    • That’s awesome! I highly recommend the Playa area. We stayed at the Playacar Palace for our wedding. Amazing for so many reasons. I’ve done a ton of research and stayed at a few different places, so email me if you have questions, I’m happy to help!!

  9. Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Made Irish soda bread tonight to celebrate. We’re planning vacations to Jackson, WY and to the lake in Northern Michigan this summer – looking forward to our trips! Do you guys ever get out to The Outer Banks? We went down to Rodanthe while we were living out East and loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

