Home » Daily food & workouts » Breakfast buffets are really overwhelming

Breakfast buffets are really overwhelming

Greetings, friends! I’m writing from my hotel room, which is wonderful. Yesterday was looooong. Like, I didn’t stop for 18 hours long. By the time I finally finished with my panel and got checked into my hotel room, I didn’t think I’d ever seen anything as glorious as this:

IMG_3279

They didn’t give me a king bed and I didn’t even care. I called Riley to let him know I was safe and sound, then jumped in that bed right away!

This morning I woke up at 6:00 and hit the hotel gym. They have a pretty nice set-up with all the basics and a few weight machines as well. I completed a 20 minute run on the treadmill to get warmed up, then grabbed some dumbbells to work on my arms. I did a slight variation of my Sexy Arms & Abs workout.

Sexy arms and abs workout

Turns out, it’s been a while since I worked my arms and I could definitely tell! It was pretty sad, actually, so now I’m making it my mission to have one “arm day” a week.

After my workout, I headed upstairs to the breakfast room. I instantly realized that this hotel is way too fancy to show up to breakfast in gym clothes. I felt super awkward, so I ran back to my room and hopped in the shower so I could be presentable. I know it’s silly to worry about strangers and waiters judging me for being sweaty, but it just felt way too formal in there to roll up in my tank top and sneakers.

Once I finally made it back to breakfast, I got a little overwhelmed. This happens to me all the time at breakfast buffets and I’m not really sure why.Ā  Maybe it’s because breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, so I want to try all of it. There’s also the worry of picking one option, but wishing you’d had something else! I don’t know. I was over-thinking this for sure. I ended up with a pitiful collection of fruit, some yogurt, and a croissant. Oh, and some egg/spinach thingy.

IMG_3280

Well…better luck tomorrow, I guess. The croissant was really good, at least. And they had good coffee, which also helped.

On the agenda for today is working in my hotel room, then greeting the rest of the work gang when they get in later this afternoon. I’m really looking forward to the reception we’re hosting tonight at the hotel. We’re expecting over 250 people so it should be a lot of fun!

Do you get overwhelmed at breakfast buffets?

What workout have you done/have planned for today?

How often do you work out your arms?

17 thoughts on “Breakfast buffets are really overwhelming

  1. Oh I so do! I always end up getting way to much food and then wasting it, which leads to me feeling bad for not finishing my meal!

  2. Oh gosh breakfast buffets are always hit or miss for me. Either they have a ton of great fruit and some omelets available, or it’s all pre-packaged sweets or make-your-own waffles (which I can’t have – gluten)! I definitely get overwhelmed sometimes!

    I work my arms twice a week – Mondays I lift upper body and Fridays I do my body pump class in the morning, which targets biceps, triceps, shoulders, and upper back. šŸ™‚

    Today I did tabata sprints for 3 miles, then stretched. A lot šŸ™‚

  3. This workout looks awesome! I had a training session this morning and did a Tabata. I have another one this afternoon and might have to incorporate a couple of the moves you mentioned! I usually focus on my arms at least a couple times a week, especially now that tank top season has arrived šŸ™‚

  4. When I traveled for work, the first time I walked to one of these buffets I just kind of stood for probably too long looking at everything. After I chose whatever and sat down I always regretted my choice, but was worried everyone would judge me for getting more dishes? Idk I guess I am just the weirdest haha

  5. Breakfast buffets are so intimidating! Breakfast is the holy grail of meals to me & you’re right- I just want to try everything. I feel like I should start piling everything on my plate until I take a deep breath, reel myself in & settle on the oatmeal, eggs & fruit options which will help keep me satisfied throughout the day & refuel my body after a good workout. I love creating shoulder workouts, in fact, I can’t remember the last time I did a “full-arms” workout. Creating workouts that incorporate chest, back and shoulders, typically takes care of that issue because the major movements in most of these exercises involves the biceps & triceps as “assistors” and gives a little more bang for your buck than focusing solely on biceps and triceps.

  6. That hotel room looks awesome! And I’m always overwhelmed at breakfast buffets! I’m always tempted to do the make-your-own waffle thing because that’s so yummy, but I usually go for oatmeal and a banana instead. Lame, but healthier!

  7. I LOVE buffets but yes, they definitely get overwhelming. That being said, since my diet is very strict, I generally don’t have that much to eat at buffets because they’re all full of bread or dishes doused with sauces I cannot eat. I DO LOVE buffets with carving stations though because generally those proteins are safe for me šŸ™‚

  8. Breakfast buffets are paradise and hell for me! I’m just like you and breakfast is my favorite meal of the day, so woot that’s the paradise. But at the same time is hell because I literally can eat everything that doesn’t include meat! oh crap!! Have a nice weekend!

  9. Good work on getting the work out done the day after your 18 hour day! I’ve been less than disciplined with the gym and travel lately.

    I feel your pain on buffets in general not just breakfast ones. One of my colleagues who I’m traveling with has a gold frequent flyer membership which gives both of us lounge access and access to the free buffet before our flights. The choices I’ve made every single time have been pretty sub par to say the least.

  10. Pingback: Egg sandwiches on the road | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

