Home » Daily food & workouts » Bella’s perch and marathon inspiration

Bella’s perch and marathon inspiration

You guys, how amazing was the Boston Marathon yesterday? I watched Rita Jeptoo and Meb Keflezighi from my computer at work and was so impressed. It’s incredible how fast they were!

Meb-KeflezighiSource

After watching the race I was all pumped up and, “I’m totally running later!! I’m gonna fly like the wind!” I spent all day thinking about how fast I was going to run when I got off work.

Then I got off work and next thing I knew I was eating leftovers on the couch and watching HGTV. And this is why I work out in the wee hours of the morning. Apparently even the Boston Marathon can’t motivate me to sweat after 5 PM.

While I enjoyed my dinner, Bella kept me company. Despite being perfect outside and having the back door open so she could play, Bella preferred to stay in with me. She likes to keep watch from her “perch,” aka the chair next to me.

Bella on perch

While Coco frolicked around outside, Bella just sat there, watching from the perch. I’ve never met a dog who’d rather watch the cat play outside through a window than actually go outside herself. She’s very attached to her people I guess!

Workout & Breakfast

This morning, I woke up at 4:30 and convinced myself to get out of bed. I used the ol’, “just go for some easy cardio and stretching, nothing strenuous!” trick and it worked.

Once I was at the gym I hopped on the adaptive motion trainer and built up the intensity over 35 minutes until I was at max resistance and super sweaty. Afterwards, I grabbed a medicine ball to do 200 reps of ab exercises. After a little stretching, I was nice and awake!

Breakfast today was leftover quiche from Sunday and a banana on the side.

Quiche and banana

I just realized that having “marathon inspiration” in the title of this post might make you think I was inspired to sign up for a marathon or something. Don’t get excited- that’s not happening. If my attention span lasts me for 6 miles it’s a great day, so 26 isn’t anywhere in the foreseeable future.

Now that we’ve cleared that up, it’s off to work. Have a good one!

Did you watch the marathon yesterday?

How do you get yourself to work out after a long work day? I feel the same way about evening workouts that others feel about working out at 5 AM. I have no idea how people do it!

25 thoughts on “Bella’s perch and marathon inspiration

  1. Haha, I’m with you. I couldn’t run a marathon, but watching them run was incredible! I couldn’t get over how fast they were. I have to work out as soon as I get home or else I won’t do it. I’m better in the morning, but lately I have been laying in bed longer- not even sleeping! Just like this morning, which means I have to work out after work now, haha

    • I don’t think I could run a half in the time it took them to run the full! haha
      It has been pretty hard lately to get up early. I think the fact that it’s light out longer makes me stay up later than normal!

  2. I didn’t get to watch the marathon I was so busy at work but I enjoyed reading all the articles out there! Unbelievable what people can achieve!
    Oh I hardly ever do evening workouts I love a nice sweat session in the mornings so I have no trouble waking up for them and actually get pretty excited for them! Freak of nature I know haha

  3. I can’t do the later in the day workouts either… just too drained. The only things I can manage are walks or bike rides outside in the early evening when the weather is nice, but sometimes even that can be a struggle. And Bella is so cute with her perch. My dog always chooses to lay in a patch of sun that comes in through the windows, and she’ll move when the sun does 😆

  4. Depending on the time of year I will workout after work – example, if it’s summer, I will run outside after work since I start at 6:30am. Otherwise, my nightly workout routine is always yoga and sometimes other stretching videos 🙂 Mornings are my tiiiiime! 🙂

  5. HA! I did have a slight freak-out thinking you signed up for a marathon lol I wonder how many people sign up for them after watching the Boston marathon??? I feel like there’s a lot of regretful tuesdays happening haha.

    For the record my dog hated going outside. She spent 14 years sitting on the same chair and would growl if you tried to sit with her. She was a bit sassy…definitely my dog lol

  6. I watched a video of them crossing the finish line but i was at work so couldn’t watch the full marathon. So happy Meb won though!
    A lot of times, I don’t work out after a long day. A long day for me means a lot of moving around and standing up, walking, repeat, but on breaks i usually fit in some squats or planks. every once in a while, I will come home, throw on my running clothes and go run without even thinking…thats one way to do it. haha

  7. I try not to think about it before I go for an evening workout. I just have to go and thats what usually gets me going. As for the mornings, if I can drag myself out of bed at the ungodly hour of 6am I am golden. But if I cant get out of bed I’ll end up falling back asleep and not getting my workout in.

  8. Bella is way too cute on her perch! Now for a shot of Coco 😉

    I’m so with you on not being able to workout after work. I used to do it but now I can find every excuse under the sun not to do it so much easier to get it done first thing in the morning.

    I loved seeing all the marathon pictures. I found it very inspiring too.

  9. I ran in the marathon Monday (just catching up on Blogs) but I DVR’ed it to watch a day after… omg it made me want to run it AGAIN! Even though I was so sore…. watching those elites fly made me feel like running so darn bad! I am going out for my first post marathon run today. Hopefully all feels well!

Leave a Reply

