Home » Daily food & workouts » Weekend recap: girls days are the best days

Weekend recap: girls days are the best days

What a great weekend I just had! I had a fun-filled and packed weekend that was super relaxed at the same time. I went into the weekend with no real obligations, which meant I was able to have fun and relax on my own schedule.

Friday night was spent with my friend Danielle, who I hadn’t seen in ages. We were waaay overdue for a good girl’s night! Riley made some fabulous pizza for us- pepperoni with onions and jalapenos. Way to go, Chef Riley.

Pepperoni and jalapeno pizza

We spent the evening sipping wine, catching up, and watching some Netflix before turning in.

Saturday morning, we got up around 7:00 and decided to make up for lost time by fitting in as much as possible in one morning. After having some fresh croissants and coffee, we took Bella for a walk around the neighborhood. I power-walked in an effort to make it a real workout.

Walking Bella gif

Yes, that’s me being a total dork and power walking my dog. Things are always better when you have a friend to document you acting like an idiot. For the record, I was not being serious. Though I gather from the old ladies of the neighborhood that power walking is, in fact, a very serious thing. Next time I must remember my fanny pack.

After putting on some real clothes, we went shopping! We hit up Target, Loft, and Charming Charlie, which are some of my favorite stores.

New town

Shopping worked up an appetite, so we went to a local restaurant called Opus 9 for lunch.

Opus 9 menu

I ordered the quiche of the day, which was smoked salmon, asparagus, and feta cheese. I love how they prepared it and everything was really delicious!

Opus 9 quiche lunch

It felt great to sit outside on the patio and enjoy the gorgeous weather, especially knowing that I had no obligations and could just enjoy the day with Danielle.

Kelly at Opus 9

 

Danielle at Opus 9

For those that are curious, this is apparently what I look like at mealtime:

Taking food pics

After lunch we went our separate ways for the day, which for me involved a nap, sunbathing on the deck and reading a new book. I lead a tough life, I know.

Sunday started nice and early for me. Since Riley works on the weekends, I often end up getting out of bed at 6:30, which is fine by me. When the weather is as gorgeous as it’s been lately, I want to make sure I don’t miss a single minute of the day.

I laced up my sneakers and went for a 3 mile run around the neighborhood, loving that I had it all to myself that early in the day. After my run and a shower, I headed out to meet Danielle for some more girl time! We went to Movie Tavern for their 9AM movie and breakfast. We saw The Other Woman, which was cute and funny, even if it was a little ridiculous at times.

The other woman movie

After the movie, I headed home for some cleaning and made myself a smoothie with banana, vanilla protein powder, coconut vanilla Greek yogurt, and coconut milk. I stopped by Riley’s work for about 45 minutes to say hello. He works with at least 6 people I used to work with back when we met and it was awesome to see some old faces and catch up.

Tropical banana smoothie

To round out my weekend, I walked around the outlets for a couple hours before coming home to make dinner and relax with Riley. All in all, it was my idea of a perfect weekend! I spent a ton of time outdoors, got in a good run and a lot of walking, spent a lot of time with a good friend, and completely re-charged.

Now I’m off to work to the day. I’ll be doing my best to be useful and productive, which will be really hard considering Mexico is only 5 days away! Hope you all have a good one!

What did you do this weekend?

What’s your favorite thing to do with friends?

33 thoughts on “Weekend recap: girls days are the best days

  1. Looks like you had a great weekend! Hats off to Chef Riley on that pizza! It looked delicious.

    Lol at your power walking too funny! Good on you on the run too.

    I saw The Other Woman too last week and thought the same as you. It was fun for something lighthearted.

    My favourite thing to do with friends is by far go out to brunch! Hands down.

  2. Sounds like you had one heck of a weekend. I seriously thought Chef Riley’s pizza was home delivery! He is just impresses me more & more. Ha Ha!

    Loved the power walking gif. I actually watched it a couple times & just laughed. So silly!

  3. This weekend sounds like one for the books! I love the time you had with your girls, yourself, and your husband! So many fun things (aka shopping!) happening πŸ™‚ I love shopping with friends or just going on a long walk.

  4. Holy delicious looking pizza! That sounds delicious. And I really want to see The Other Woman! I’m glad you approved of it, cuz I always wait for a couple reviews first πŸ™‚ I love Cameron Diaz!

  5. Pizza looks fabulous as always πŸ™‚
    I saw The Other Women this weekend too! I loved it, and yes some parts were a little crazy like that glass incident part it was a little on the fake side haha but it made me laugh so that is all that matters!

  6. Sounds like you had an awesome weekend! I always see speed walkers and they look so funny. I guess it is kind of a funny activity. That pizza looks absolutely delicious! Hats off to the chef!

  7. LOVE Girls Weekend! I absolutely love your gif, hilarious! And I am sooo jealous you are leaving for Meixcoβ˜€οΈ soon, you….. lucky girl. πŸ˜‰ Glad you had a good weekend! Make sure you take lots of pics and bring your friends back some good tequila! πŸ˜ŽπŸ‘

  8. What a fun weekend! That pizza looked fantastic! Impressive. I totally want to see The Other Woman. I am mostly liking that you have a movie theater that allows breakfast and a movie? That is fantastic! Surely NE has something like that going on…. I should check around. Happy Monday! πŸ™‚

    • We can totally prancercise together! I’ve had practice pumping my arms, so I’m already pretty good (not to brag….)

      I know! I just recently discovered that the Movie Taverns all do this. If only they had mimosas it would’ve been even better.

  9. Davs beat me to it! But I was going to suggest prancercising as well πŸ˜† We wouldn’t even need fanny packs with how ridiculous we’d look πŸ˜‰ But that honestly sounds like an awesome weekend. I did almost -nothing- this past weekend, which was perfection since the past week kind of knocked me on my butt. And… uhm… can I come over for pizza next time? That seriously looks AMAZING.

    • Haha if not fanny packs, then maybe some of those ’80s sweat bands for our wrists to make sure people knew we were serious!

      Nothing weekends are my favorite kind. Naps in the middle of the day, reading, never changing out of PJs. The best!

  10. …..I honestly can’t say I’ve ever heard of someone seeing a 9am movie. You are epic.

    And that gif should go viral. Stop playing games. That IS how you walk isn’t it πŸ˜‰

    I think I need to move to your area. Outlet shopping across the road, good foodie places and accidentally stopping over when Chef Riley makes pizza.

  11. I love girl days! I just had one on Saturday and it’s so nice to spend time with other females sometimes haha ;). Glad you had such a relaxing weekend!

Leave a Reply

