Home » Daily food & workouts » First-world vacation problems

First-world vacation problems

Saturday morning, we’re leaving for Mexico! I can’t wait to be on the same beach where we got married 3 years ago. I’m also so psyched to just relax with Riley and party it up on the beach!

I’ve got a lot to do before Saturday, so this will likely be my last post until I get back and I plan on completely unplugging while I’m away. Will you all miss me??? You better say yes. Moving on….oh and here’s a picture of the beach where we’re staying.

playa-del-carmen-beachesSource

I’m one of those annoying people who can’t shut up about an upcoming vacation. I can’t help myself because I just get too excited! The response I get from most everyone when I mention our trip is, “I hate you.” Well that’s not very nice. Now before you judge you should know something…

Vacationing is hard. Really hard.

Riley and I have nearly perfected the art over the years, but there are a few problems that always occur. So read on, and let the sympathy flow.

First-World Vacation Problems…the Kelly and Riley edition

1) We have to order two drinks at a time (each) because we never know when our beach waiter will return.

margarita-drink-beach_22442_600x450Source

2) I don’t know where I’d rather start my day- at the beach or at the pool. The beach will be quieter, but if I wait too long to get chairs at the pool I won’t find good ones!

3) Frizzy hair. Ugh, the WORST.

Source

No amount of frizz cream can fix what happens when it’s 87 degrees, humid, and windy.

4) How will I justify all those margaritas? Wait, how many have I had? It’s already 1 PM, so probably at least 4. How many calories do we think sunbathing burns?

IMG_3664

Damn.

5) Getting out of the water: what I think I look like vs. what I actually look like.

Hair flip sexy Nailed it hair flip

6) Putting on sunscreen at the beach: If I use the spray stuff the wind will probably blow half of it away. But if I use the lotion stuff it’ll rub the sand into my skin, which is mildly uncomfortable.

fed64fabe6c01d8e8380b7453d256ca9fb372b61d288b71b313c4df46cfdda39Source

7) We have to get up at 4AM to catch our flights. That’s 30 WHOLE MINUTES earlier than I normally get up!

8) Having to compromise with Riley-

Riley’s perfect beach day:

beach-hammockSource

My perfect beach day:

Perfect beach day Kelly

9) Running out of books to read. I thought 7 would be enough.

2014-04-21-cryingandpopSource

ย Well, I guess I’ll just read the airplane safety instructions all the way home…

10) Coming home. Last time we went to Playa Del Carmen, I cried the day we had to leave, so we’ll see how it goes this time around.

KduXzkzSource

Well, reality will have to come eventually, I know….until then I’ll be sunning myself on the beach, drinking too much tequila, sleeping in, partying with Riley every night, and being incredibly thankful that for one whole week the worst problems I’ll have are the ones you see above.

Adios, amigos, I’ll catch you later!

19 thoughts on “First-world vacation problems

  1. Haha this list is too funny and too true! The sunscreen, the frizzy hair all of it really!!

    I am so so jealous of your holiday! I know though just how hard you’ve worked this year and if anyone deserves a great holiday it is you. Have an awesome time friend and I can’t wait to jealously look on at the pics when you get back ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Ahh I am so jealous! Have fun in Mexico! Can’t wait for the recaps! Capture some good eats too ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Vigorously sunbathing, bahahahaha. I’m sure if u combine that with napping it’s a lot more calories than u think! Have fun lady, sooo jealous!

  4. This whole post has got me laughing! Made my morning, Kelly! “It Isn’t Fair” hahahhahaa, exactly how i feel on the last day of vacation.

  5. bahahahaha you’re hilarious! I hate having to set the alarm super early to claim chairs with our towels. At least I’ll go back to sleep but vacation should mean sleeeping in waaaaah. Have fun gorgeous!

  6. Great gifs ๐Ÿ™‚ I totally don’t blame you for not wanting to talk about anything but your impending vacation, I’m the same way. And I totally look like Anne Hathaway when it comes to an end!

    Have an amazing time!!

  7. Hahah this post made me crack up. Vacationing is SO hard ;). My favorite is the “calories burned from sunbathing”. I think a solid 480 minutes should take care of all those delicious and refreshing drinks. That seems juuuust about right.

  8. Oh Kelly!!!! So good! Have a safe and delicious trip – and then tell us all about it when you get back. Happy vacation!

  9. Wait I just laughed out loud so hard reading this. Total first-world problems. I am 100% with you on the “getting out of the water” thing. I always look like a wet rat. How do those supermodels do it? Have a BLAST and I can’t wait to see pictures! I promise I won’t say “I hate you!”

Leave a Reply

