Home » Life » Playa Del Carmen, Mexico: Part One

Playa Del Carmen, Mexico: Part One

I’m baaaaaack! Miss me? I missed you all and can’t wait to hear what you’ve been up to! Riley and I just got back from our awesome week in Mexico and aside from some obligatory Facebook bragging, I was pretty much unplugged the whole week. I’m going to break up our vacation into a 2-part recap and then on Wednesday I’ll share all the meals I had for WIAW.

Our vacation started out early in the morning with a drive to the airport. We had a really smooth check-in process and grabbed some coffee while waiting to board.

Airport coffee

Things were going great until we hit the hour-long wait to get through customs in Cancun. Crazy!

Customs in Cancun

Eventually, we made it out of there and caught our van to take us the 45 minutes to our resort.

Car ride to resort

Our resort was huge so a golf cart shuttle had to take us to our building. We had a dangerous start to the trip when the golf cart driver backed us right into a ditch, crashing the cart. We found out later it was his first day on the job and was really nervous. I felt so bad for him, especially since a few dozen staff members witnessed the whole thing!

We made it to our room and were quickly disappointed when we realized we’d been given a double room instead of a king. I was about to call and have them switch us, when I opened the balcony door and saw our view.

Sansos view from balcony

We decided the unexpected ocean view was worth it so we decided to stick it out!

After getting settled in our room, we headed down to the beach for some snacks and beers.

Playacar beach from bar

Later, we headed out to a bar in the main plaza area to have some drinks and get into full vacation mode, which is really easy to do at an all-inclusive resort!

Sandos sports bar

I got tricked into taking a shot of this chili-infused tequila and it was painful to say the least!

Chili pepper tequila

After going to bed super early after a long day, we woke up really early to the sounds of animals all around us. A cool part of our resort was that we were the last one on the main hotel zone and backed up to jungle. We enjoyed the chirping of birds while the resort woke up, then became really startled when we heard what sounded like a giant jaguar coming from outside our room. We opened the door to find this guy right on the railing outside our door-

Howler monkey on railing

Turns out, our resort was crawling with howler monkeys, the loudest land animal on the planet. In case you want to hear just how loud they are, check out this video and tell me that sound wouldn’t freak you out if you heard it outside your door!

They were more than happy to hang out with the guests, though, especially if they had bananas on them. Sadly, I didn’t get to feed the monkeys, but I really wanted to!

I’ll spare you the play-by-play for every day, but the next couple of days were some variation of this:

– Wake up, run outside with a banana hoping to see the monkeys. After the first day, they didn’t return to our building. I was really sad I couldn’t make them my new best friends.

– Head to the resort gym to get in a quick workout. They had a great gym and there were usually only a couple of us in there at a time.

Sandos gym

-Get ready for the beach and head to the buffet for breakfast.

-Head to the beach and read/sun ourselves for several hours.

Feet on the beach

 

Kelly on the beach

-Get lunch at the buffet.

-Head to our room for an AC break and a quick rest.

-Do some type of non-laying activity. One day we rented bikes and went for a quick ride around the Playacar community, and another day we walked all along the beach past our resort for a 1 1/2 hour walk.

Sandos beach

-Go down to the pool or back to the beach for another few hours.

-Get ready for dinner, then head to the bar for a few pre-dinner drinks.

Kelly on swing at bar

-Have dinner at one of the al a carte restaurants. While we were there we ate at a seafood place, Mexican, and French. I’d heard mixed reviews about the food, but I was pleasantly surprised that I liked most of what I had!

-After dinner, we’d head to whatever entertainment the resort was offering that night. They had live music in the plaza every night and some type of show in their theater every night as well. My favorite was the circus show!

Circus show collage

One thing the resort did really well was provide a ton of evening entertainment for everyone. We’ve stayed at places that were totally boring at night, but almost every night the plaza was packed with people to enjoy the shows.

I think that’s enough pictures for now. I’ll be back tomorrow with part 2 and talk about our trip into town for our 3-year anniversary dinner.

Have a great day!

What have you been up to this past week? What’s the most exciting/interesting thing that’s happened?

 

16 thoughts on “Playa Del Carmen, Mexico: Part One

  1. Wow looks like you guys had a great time! Loving your pictures and so jealous of that amazing weather you had. Shake about the double bed but worth it for that view!

    Good on you for getting your workouts done whilst away! 🙂

    Nothing exciting here just work and more work and dreaming of vacation! My biggest highlight was watching Eurovision and watching more episodes of Pan Am 😉

  2. Looks like you two had such an incredible time. I am quite jealous of the view.. and the fact that you were able to get so close to a monkey. Aren’t they adorable?! 😀 Can’t wait to hear more about your trip tomorrow!

  3. This looks like such a fun time! I love places that have entertainment at night; it makes it more enjoyable because you have somewhere set in stone you can go! I can’t believe you had a monkey that close- I have only seen them behind cages at the zoo 😉

  4. That looks and sounds like an amazing time! I couldn’t wait to hear about the trip! So jealous of that view it is gorgeous! Glad you had such a wonderful time 🙂

  5. Those monkeys are too cool!! Although, if I heard that sound, I’m not sure I would open the door.

    It looks like you had a great time…minus waiting in customs and taking a chili infused tequila shot. That sends shivers down my spine!!

  6. WOW that gym looks amazeballs! My gym’s AC is bAH-ROKEN! Never knew how much I needed AC til my cycle class!! Mexico looks amazing!!

  7. Oh man, that looks absolutely amazing- even moreso as we’re entering the Winter chill. I’ve just watched a TV series where they went to Cabo Mexico and now I really want to go!

    I’m anxiously awaiting that mermaid from the water picture you owe us!

  8. Pingback: Playa Del Carmen, Mexico: Part Two | Kelly Runs for Food

  9. Pingback: What I ate in Mexico | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

