Home » Life » Playa Del Carmen, Mexico: Part Two

Playa Del Carmen, Mexico: Part Two

Welcome to Part Two of our Mexico recap! In case you missed Part One, you can get caught up here.

The second half of our trip to Mexico was a lot like the first- read, sleep, drink, lounge, eat, repeat. I gave up hope years ago of getting a tan, so I spent a lot of time in the shade. I had gotten a spray tan right before we left so considering how much sunscreen I put on I got progressively less tan as the week went on. I’m probably the only person who can go to Mexico for a week and come back paler than when I left.

We had some great dinners and saw some more fun shows at the resort throughout the week. They had a fire show and a cover band that was actually really good. I loved that all of this was free and part of the resort!

Kelly and Riley before French dinner

Sandos evening concert

Thursday was our 3-year anniversary, so we took a cab into downtown Playa Del Carmen for dinner. Playa Del Carmen is such a cool town. There are shops, bars, and restaurants everywhere you turn and it always seems to be busy.

5th ave Playa

Our first dinner attempt was a failure, since we sat at our table for 15 minutes and no one showed. After leaving, we walked down the street until a place caught our eye. We ended up at a Mexican place called Los Rancheros and got seated up on the third floor. We had the whole floor to ourselves, so I pretended that we were on a date on The Bachelor and Riley had rented out the whole place just for us. All that was missing was a private concert and a fireworks show!

Kelly anniversary date

We got started off with some jumbo margaritas, which were necessary and delicious!

Kelly and Riley at dinner with margs

For dinner we ordered fish and shrimp ceviche to share and I got quesadillas for my entree. Riley ordered some steak burritos which were, of course, superior to my dinner. The man has a knack for ALWAYS ordering something better than me!

Kelly and Riley at dinner anniversary

After dinner, we walked back through town and ended up at a really fun place called Fusion Bar. The bar was right on the beach and there was a band playing while guests lounged in low chairs right in the sand. In between sets a fire dancing group came out and performed a fire show, which was a lot of fun. We had a great time and stayed out way past our bedtime. Considering we went to bed fairly early most nights, 1:30 was really late for us!

Band at Fusion

Our last day at the resort was spent at the beach, then later at the spa pool. I got really sick of all the screaming children at our resort (adults-only next time, for sure!), so we went to the hydrotherapy pool in the spa area, which was just for adults. Pure bliss! We relaxed for hours in the peace and quiet before getting ready for our last night.

Hydro pool Sandos Playacar

After a relatively low-key night, I woke up at 5:45 the next morning and decided to go down to the beach and watch the sunrise. It was possibly one of the prettiest things I’ve ever seen in my life.

Sunrise Playa 1

It was amazing to sit on the perfect sand while the sun rose and take the quiet time to reflect on just how thankful I am and what a beautiful place we were in.

Playa sunrise

With opposite work schedules and coming off a crazy and stressful year, this trip was exactly what we both needed. I absolutely love Mexico and Playa Del Carmen, and I don’t think we’ll be able to stay away for long. Though I’m already thinking of ideas for next year’s vacation (which I know drives Riley nuts), I have a feeling we’ll be back in Playa soon!

Where’s your favorite vacation spot?

 

22 thoughts on “Playa Del Carmen, Mexico: Part Two

  1. It all looks and sounds like it was an amazing trip! So cool you got that whole floor of the restaurant to yourselves for your anniversary, so did you get the rose at the end of the date? πŸ˜‰

    The most relaxing and delicious vacation food wise I’ve had is Hawaii hands down. It was so much fun and the weather was awesome.

  2. I love that you felt like you were on the Bachelor πŸ™‚ That’s so fun! I agree that kids can get annoying when you want to just relax and I was so thankful for having a kids pool area on our cruise so we stayed away from that! haha

  3. Sounds like the absolute perfect anniversary vacation. So cool y’all were the only one on the 3rd floor at the restaurant. Can’t get any less quieter & peaceful than that πŸ™‚ I’d say my favorite vacation so far was to Santorini Island, Greece a couple years ago. It was incredible!

  4. Looks so gorgeous πŸ˜€ I haven’t been to Mexico since I was a tiny little thing, and even then it was only Mexico City so I probably didn’t see all the beauty there is to be seen… which basically just means that I need to go back one day πŸ˜‰ And watching sunrises on the ocean may just be one of the best feelings in the world.

  5. Aww that meal out looks perfect – how romantic!

    Am with you on the tanning front, I never ever tan 😦

    My favourite holiday spot is the Middle East – especially Oman, it’s so beautiful.

  6. That sunrise was beautiful! You’re so good getting up so early and working out every day.
    Watching the sunrise at Haleakala in Maui is like one a once in a lifetime thing but I refused to get up at 3am while on vacation!

    That hyrdotherapy pool also looks amazing. I’d like to be there with a cocktail right about now!

  7. Pingback: What I ate in Mexico | Kelly Runs for Food

Leave a Reply

