Home » Workouts » Squeeze-it-in Vacation Workout

Squeeze-it-in Vacation Workout

As promised, I have a workout to share with you today! It’s what I did last week in Mexico to stay active and get in my gym time without sacrificing quality vacation time. I’ve posted before about staying healthy on the road and I’m a firm believer that being healthy doesn’t have to stop just because your routine is different.

I loved being lazy and taking a break on vacation, but all that laying around made me antsy. If you’re anything like me, you need an outlet to burn off some energy before slipping back into “veg” mode. At the same time, I don’t like spending precious vacation time at the gym. Last week, I came up with a condensed workout plan for the week so I could get in and out in 30 minutes.

The key to this workout is to push yourself hard and fast so you can work up a nice sweat before the 30 minutes are up. Enjoy!

Squeeze-it-in Vacation Workout

Squeeze-it-in vacation workout

I found this was the perfect way to feel accomplished, but be done by the time the breakfast buffet opened. All you need is a treadmill and some dumbbells, which most hotel gyms will have. I used 10 lbs. for the arm circuit, 12 for the legs, and a 10 lb. dumbbell for the leg-up crunches.

The speeds are what I used for the cardio, but you can obviously adjust according to your own levels. I recommend the first 5 minutes being the speed you’d run if you were doing a longer run, then going up from there.

I’m keeping this post short and sweet since I have to run, but hope you all enjoyed it. Have a good one!

Do you work out on vacation?

18 thoughts on “Squeeze-it-in Vacation Workout

  1. Thank you so much for this workout 🙂 I am currently on vacation and I do love to get in a little sweat session before I am out and about and I was just wondering what I would incorporate tomorrow! That ab circuit is calling my name !

  2. Shoot, this is a good workout anytime! I might have to use it at home but do the running outside since I don’t have a treadmill.

    I usually don’t work out on vacation but that’s only because I plan plenty of active things to do while we’re gone. There’s usually hiking, some kind of water sport, or a lot of walking around to keep me moving throughout the day.

  3. What a great quick workout! I try to workout while I’m on vacation. But sometimes it doesn’t always happens. Depending on who I am with, I find myself usually at the swim-up bar instead:) If I do it, I need to do it first thing in the a.m. or it doesn’t get done.

  4. I definitely run and workout while on vacation–I find I just enjoy myself so much more because I don’t feel lethargic or blah. But I try to incorporate new workouts (that I can only take advantage of there) as well as traditional workouts in to my routine. And I love to run through new cities and places.

  5. I do workout on vacation. I work 6 days/week so I get two weeks off every three months. If I didn’t workout, that would be over 8 weeks a year that I wasn’t getting a workout in! If I go home on my time off, I workout at the gym there. If I don’t have access to a gym, I try to do some of the body weight HIIT I’ve found through Women’s Health. I also try to get in as much walking as I can!

    • Wow, your schedule sounds crazy! That’s awesome that you get it in anyway, way better to stay consistent.
      I try to remember how good walking can be for you. Even if that’s all you do, it’s still worth it!

  6. When I was in Hawaii I tried to workout every day. It got to a point where if it wasn’t every day I would panic (because of all the CRAP food I was eating), but really most days to exercise on vacation isn’t bad. This looks like a great workout. I love circuit workouts!

    • I figure no amount of working out will cancel out the junk I might eat on vacation, so best to just do what you can! I’ve heard amazing things about Hawaiian food, though, so I can only imagine haha.

Leave a Reply

