Home » Daily food & workouts » Weekend recap: prepping for summer

Weekend recap: prepping for summer

I can’t believe it’s Monday already! This weekend flew by and I hope you had a great one! I got a lot of stuff done and enjoyed what was basically perfect spring weather!

Friday night Riley and I went out to a birthday dinner for his boss. The food was amazing and we had a really great time! I completely forgot to take pics, so no visuals, unfortunately. I did indulge in a fabulous filet mignon, plenty of red wine, and bread/butter, though.  Saturday was pretty uneventful. I had to work for a few hours and I mostly relaxed the rest of the day afterwards. After some homemade steak Caesar salads Saturday night (with leftover steak from Friday’s dinner), Riley and I both went to bed pretty early.

Steak caesar salads

Going to bed early on Saturday meant that I woke up with Riley around 6:00 on Sunday. I got into one of those moods where I wanted to do EVERYTHING in one day, so that’s what I did!

First, I got Bella into the car and we drove over to Colonial Williamsburg to enjoy the sights and walk around. Williamsburg is gloriously empty at 7 AM and the weather was absolutely perfect for an early walk!

Empty CW

This time of year the public gardens in CW are in bloom and it’s so fun to walk around and check out all the gorgeous flowers.

CW gardens

Bella got herself right into the middle of the gardens and was having an absolute blast!

Bella in the CW gardens

After our long walk, I got changed and headed to a hot Vinyasa flow class at Studio South. It was a 90 minute class, which was the longest I’ve ever spent doing yoga in 105 degree heat. Let’s just say the class kicked my butt in an awesome way and I was completely drenched in sweat by the time it was over!

After yoga, I decided to get started on our patio/garden overhaul and got to work. After a couple hours of pulling weeds, cleaning up beds, and shopping for plants, our little garden is off to a great start!

Veggie garden before and after:

Garden before and after

Between our little veggie garden and some pots, I planted:

  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Beefsteak tomatoes
  • Banana peppers
  • Basil
  • Thyme
  • Rosemary
  • Parsley

I still have some room, so I’m hoping to track down some cucumber plants, jalapenos, and a couple more herbs.

I’m loving how great our back deck smells! I also got some new pillows for our deck chairs and some hanging petunias. Outdoor pillows at Target are on sale for $8 and buy-one-get-one-50% off so I got four deck pillows for $24. Score!

Updated patio collage

Coco was more than happy to help me garden.

Coco on the deck

And because I hadn’t done enough, I decided to whip up a batch of brownies too. They actually got whipped up pretty quickly cause I used a box mix from Trader Joe’s. Totally fine, because they tasted deliciously homemade 🙂

Brownie pan

Once Riley got home it was cocktail time! He’d bought a bunch of fresh lemons, limes, and oranges and made us some citrus-y vodka tonics. I spent my early evening unwinding on the patio with my drink and a magazine. Perfect weekend activity in my opinion!

Vodka tonic on patio

I’m a bit sore this morning, so I’ll probably take it easy in the workout department today. Now I’m off to grab some breakfast and get ready for work.

Have a great day!

What did you do this weekend?

Do you have a garden? What do you plant?

 

 

15 thoughts on “Weekend recap: prepping for summer

  1. You and me both, Kelly- I woke up so damn early Saturday, and felt like I had to do everything (well, before lunch!). Great job on the garden- I kill plants just by looking at them! This weekend, I had yumcha on Saturday…so good! Dumplings and pot stickers should be their own food group.

  2. Wow, you were super productive on Sunday! Bella looks so happy in the middle of the gardens. 🙂 I love your back yard too. It’s like a little oasis.
    I’ve been wanting to start a garden so bar but we have to move soon so that will have to wait. You’ll have to give us an update soon so I can live vicariously through you instead.

  3. I want to grow a garden SO BAD! This summer, I’m just sticking to a huge basil plant and tomatoes outside on my front porch (the hanging kind). Your garden is lovely! And those brownies look soooo good.

  4. Every year I tell myself that I’m going to plant a little garden, and it has yet to happen. I blame this on the fact that I’m somewhat of a brown thumb and kill plants almost instantaneously. I have one potted plant in my home, and I’ve killed that thing so many times it’s a miracle it keeps coming back to life.

  5. Every time I’ve tried to have plants, I have successfully killed them every single time 😉 Yours looks pretty and I hope it is more successful than mine.

    I am jealous of that beautiful weather it looks like you had. When it is a sunny day here I always want to try and fit lots in too.

    I like to think that pic of Coco was just for me 😉

  6. Hi Kelly,

    You’re a great inspiration, so much so, I’ve decided to follow in your footsteps and start my own blog. Following your lead, I’m going to try and lose weight without turning my entire life upside down! If anyones interested it is a work in progress, and can be found here..
    http://beaskinnyminny.wordpress.com/2014/05/20/about-me-whats-it-all-about/#comments

    I’m trying to see what I can incorporate into my everyday life to make some changes, and have been using your homemade workouts as inspiration 🙂

    Thank for inspiring me!

Leave a Reply

