Home » Daily food & workouts » Mid-week vacation days are the best

Mid-week vacation days are the best

It feels weird that it’s Thursday right now! I love taking a day off in the middle of the week because it makes the work days seem so short. Yesterday was filled with a lot of fun and I’m so glad I took the vacation time.

The first half of the day was spent with Riley on our mini day-date. We recently found out that Bonefish Grill now serves lunch, so we headed over to check it out. It didn’t disappoint! I ordered grilled salmon topped with spinach, goat cheese, and artichoke hearts. On the side I had a couscous salad that was delicious. The whole meal hit the spot and was just the right amount of food!

Salmon from Bonefish

After lunch we went to see Neighbors, which was really funny! I don’t think I laughed as much as I was expecting to, but it was really entertaining and I definitely don’t regret seeing it.

Yesterday evening, my friend Danielle came over so we could catch up on the first episode of the Bachelorette. While I got dinner ready, we chatted and sipped wine. Meanwhile, Coco enjoyed the great outdoors on the back deck. It’s almost impossible to keep her inside once the weather warms up!

Patio and Coco

For our appetizer I set out some delicious crackers and gorgonzola cheese from Trader Joe’s that I couldn’t stop eating!

cheese and crackers

Dinner was a delicious salad that was inspired by a menu item I saw on the Bonefish Grill menu. I’ll tell you all about it with the recipe tomorrow. I’m really glad I have leftovers so I can enjoy it again today for lunch.

Girls night table

We watched the Bachelorette, a couple episodes of Vampire Diaries (Don’t judge me for my tv choices…..I get enough judgement of my teenager shows from Riley) and did our nails before calling it a night. I’m totally OK with a girl’s night that involves yoga pants, couch time, wine, and going to bed by 10:00.

Workout & Breakfast

Despite getting to bed a bit later than I normally would, I was determined to get to the gym this morning. Could have something to do with the fact that I ate everything in sight for dinner last night. It’s fine….I arrived at the gym right at 5:00 and hopped on a treadmill for a run. After 30 minutes, I’d planned to do a leg workout, but I was enjoying my run so much I decided to just go with it. I finished after 50 minutes to stretch a bit before heading home.

I was craving something savory for breakfast today, which hasn’t happened in a while. I scrambled up some eggs with turkey sausage, spinach, and feta cheese. On the side I had a slice of toast with avocado on top.

IMG_3938

So good! I have a feeling this will keep me full right up to lunch.

I loved having my mini break during the week. The best part is now I only have a day and a half standing between me and Memorial Day Weekend.

Hope you all have a good one!

What’s for breakfast today?

Do you stick to a set plan for your workouts or do you like to go with the flow?

21 thoughts on “Mid-week vacation days are the best

  1. I loveee midweek breaks! They are so nice and enjoyable! I didn’t watch the Bacherlorette this week. I totally forgot! Love that you kept on running today 🙂 I am down and out from my knee hurting so I am living through you 😉

  2. Wow we totally had the same exact mornings! Well I didn’t get up until 6 am but I was planning a 30 minute run and then a leg workout, but I enjoyed my run so much that I ended up running for about 50 minutes too! Then I also craved a savory breakfast, versus my usual sweet craving haha!

  3. Breakfast today was a delish Brussels sprout, bacon and cranberry omelette!
    With CrossFit I just turn up and do what I am told (WOD)! So I don’t have to think about it – always good!

  4. It’s such a great idea to take a break in the middle of the week! By the way, the food pictures made water come into my mouth! 😉 Thank you for sharing!

  5. Glad you enjoyed your mini vacay- even though pretty sure someone was recently in Me-hi-co.

    I actually wish my work would let me have wednesdays off- I’d take a pay cut for the mid week mental break haha. Cannot WAIT see to see neighbours!

  6. What a lovely mini break. No judgement on your shows. I love my Miami, Atlanta and Vancouver housewives. We all need our guilty pleasures. Your yard looks so summery and inviting.

  7. Glad to hear you got some more time off and got to enjoy it 🙂 loving all your eats!

    I would never ever judge your tv choices I’m a fellow Bachelorette fan and something tells me because you like Vampire Diaries I definitely would too!

    You’re my running inspiration! I hope to get to the point soon where I get to 30 minutes and then feel so great i do an extra 20! 😉

    Enjoy your weekend my friend!

Leave a Reply

