Friday Sunrise Run

Happy Friday everyone! This morning was a bit of a fail and I accidentally turned off my alarm instead of hitting snooze. As a result, I got up too late to make it to the gym, but too early not to do something, so I laced up my sneakers and went for a quick 2 mile run around my neighborhood. The sun had just come up and the only sound was the birds chirping. It was so peaceful and beautiful outside, not to mention nice and cool! I couldn’t believe it was 60 degrees in June, but I loved it.

 

Image

Even though it was quick, it was a great start to the day. After showering I threw together a Greek yogurt smoothie. I usually don’t plan my smoothies ahead of time or follow recipes. Instead, I typically grab a bunch of healthy stuff in my kitchen and hope for the best. Today’s concoction turned out to be really tasty!

 

ImageI used peach Greek yogurt, chia seeds, frozen fruit (strawberries, peaches, and bananas), and about 1/4 cup of orange juice. It was tangy and delicious!

After a super long day at work, I couldn’t resist a leftover slice of pizza from last night’s dinner. Riley really is a master pizza chef.

Image

I could pretend I only eat uber-healthy food, but I’d be lying. I love my spinach and chia seeds, but I also really. really. love pizza. <sigh>. Do you have a food you indulge in with absolutely no guilt attached? I have a few, actually, but we won’t go there now 🙂

Now I plan on spending the evening in with Riley and the pets. Coco’s decided to give Bella a bath and it’s hilarious to watch. She really takes the ear-cleaning thing seriously!

Image

I’m looking forward to a weekend filled with beach time and hanging out with friends. I also want to do something active that doesn’t involve the gym since it’ll be so pretty outside. I’m thinking of doing something like this outdoor workout: Summer Slimdown Circuit.

What outdoor workouts are you doing this weekend?

Author: Kelly Runs for Food

My name is Kelly and I'm a 36 year old living in Williamsburg, VA. I'm a wife, runner, healthy(ish) eater, animal lover, and wine enthusiast. My blog is all about finding a balance of healthy living and occasional indulgences. Hope you enjoy reading!

3 thoughts on “Friday Sunrise Run”

  1. That sounds like a brilliant run! Those types are my favorite and always remind me why running is so worth it. For me, I always choose to indulge in either Vietnamese or Thai food. Haha not even a single type of food from those cuisines, ALL OF IT <>.

    I love how friendly Coco and Bella are! I have a kitty of my own, but she’s extremely skittish when around anyone who’s not in our family and would probably have a heart attack if she met a dog!

    I’ll probably end up going on a couple runs sometime this week. There are a million hills where I live (no joke, my city is named Rolling Hills) so I’m going to try to hunt down the least excruciating running path I can 😉

Leave a comment